翻譯:English GB

羅馬書 8:1-17

成為聖潔與聖靈、之一

8:1 如今,那些在基督耶穌堛煽N不定罪了。
8:2 因為賜生命聖靈的律
  在基督耶穌媊孺韙F我,
  使我脫離罪和死的律了。

8:3 律法既因肉體軟弱,有所不能行的,
  神就差遣自己的兒子成為罪身的形狀,作了贖罪祭,
  在肉體中定了罪案,


8:4 使律法的義成就在我們這不隨從肉體,
  只隨從聖靈的人身上。

8:5 因為隨從肉體的人體貼肉體的事,
  隨從聖靈的人體貼聖靈的事。


8:6 體貼肉體的就是死﹔
  體貼聖靈的乃是生命、平安。


8:7 原來體貼肉體的就是與神為仇﹔
  因為不服神的律法,也是不能服。

8:8 而且屬肉體的人不能得神的喜歡。
8:9 如果神的靈住在你們心堙A
  你們就不屬肉體,乃屬聖靈了。
  人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。


8:10 基督若在你們心堙A
  身體就因罪而死,心靈卻因義而活。


8:11 然而,叫耶穌從死奡_活者的靈若住在你們心堙A
  那叫基督耶穌從死奡_活的,
  也必借著住在你們心堛爾t靈,
  使你們必死的身體又活過來。


8:12 弟兄們,這樣看來,我們并不是欠肉體的債,去順從肉體活著。
8:13 你們若順從肉體活著,必要死﹔
  若靠著聖靈治死身體的惡行,必要活著。

8:14 因為凡被神的靈引導的,都是神的兒子。
8:15 你們所受的不是奴仆的心,仍舊害怕﹔
  所受的乃是兒子的心,因此我們呼叫:“阿爸,父!”

8:16 聖靈與我們的心同証我們是神的兒女﹔

8:17 既是兒女,便是後嗣,
  就是神的後嗣,和基督同作後嗣。
  如果我們和他一同受苦,
  也必和他一同得榮耀。


問題討論

為什麼那些在基督耶穌堛漱H就不定罪了?
從這一段,你覺得那些在基督堛漱H的思想狀態和行為會是什麼樣的?
是不是所有由神生的人都有聖靈住在心堙A由聖靈控制?(第9節)
你的救贖狀態是否取決于你的表現?
是不是所有屬基督的都有聖靈?(第10節)
你對將來最大的盼望是什麼?
基督徒以基督徒的生活方式生活的動力是懼怕嗎?還是其它什麼?
你怎麼知道你是神的兒女?
你與基督同受的苦是什麼?

注釋

不定罪了

羅馬書 8:1-2 如今,那些在基督耶穌堛煽N不定罪了。因為賜生命聖靈的律,在基督耶穌媊孺韙F我,使我脫離罪和死的律了。

一但一個人在基督堙A他就不被定罪了。那麼一個人是在什麼時候在基督堛漫O?“你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),”【以弗所書 1:13-14a】罪和死的律──就是說如果你犯罪,你就要被定罪──不再適用于那些在基督堛漱H。事實上耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至于定罪,是已經出死入生了。”【約翰福音 5:24】一個人不能靠行善而得救,因為得救不是靠做工,同樣在基督堛漱H也不能因行惡而使他們被定罪,否則得救就是靠做工了。因此我們說:一朝得救,永遠得救。

還有,因為重生的性質,那些在基督堛漱H有按聖靈去行的特征。雖然得救不取決于一個人的表現,但從一個人的表現可以看出一個人是不是在基督堙C


基督使我們成就了律法

羅馬書 8:3-4 律法既因肉體軟弱,有所不能行的,神就差遣自己的兒子成為罪身的形狀,作了贖罪祭,在肉體中定了罪案,使律法的義成就在我們這不隨從肉體,只隨從聖靈的人身上。

如他在第七章說明的那樣,由于我們的罪性,律法不能使我們變好,更不能挽回我們已經犯的罪。我們稱義和成為聖潔都是通過耶穌基督實現的,他出生在有罪性的肉身堙A繼承了與我們同樣的罪性。“因我們的大祭司并非不能體恤我們的軟弱,他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣──只是他沒有犯罪。”【希伯來書 4:15】他定了肉身中的罪,使我們稱義。

注意這句話:“使律法的義成就在我們……身上”他沒有說:“在他身上”,而是說:“在我們身上”。而且接下來說我們的行為,我們中間那些在基督堛漱H。雖然得救不是以成就律法的義為條件的,那些在基督堛漱H將不可避免地變為成就這些要求的人,這些要求主要是愛神和它人。這是那些在基督堛漱H的歸宿。在基督堛漱ㄛO別人,正是那些不使他們的生活方式服從他們的罪性,而服從住在他們堶悸爾t靈的人。


你心媟Q的是什麼?

羅馬書 8:5-8 因為隨從肉體的人體貼肉體的事,隨從聖靈的人體貼聖靈的事。體貼肉體的就是死﹔體貼聖靈的乃是生命、平安。原來體貼肉體的就是與神為仇﹔因為不服神的律法,也是不能服。而且屬肉體的人不能得神的喜歡。

記得保羅在前面說:“這樣看來,我以內心順服神的律﹔”【羅馬書 7:25b】盡管保羅在第七章所表達的與罪性的爭戰,他克意去想聖靈所愿的事,雖然他承認由于罪性的影響,沒有能夠完美地將其做出來。但心媗曊K肉體的人甚至從心堣ㄩ@行善,而是按照他罪性的欲望來設定他的意愿。

基督徒的生活首先在于你想的是什麼,次之才是關于你做的是什麼。你所做的流露出你所想的,否則你就是以墨守律法去生活。更不用說那些體貼罪性的欲望的人。“我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。”【以弗所書 2:3】

“屬肉體”,我推想指的是按照罪性的欲望來定義自己。這不再是控制的問題,而是效忠的問題。把自己看作是在其中,從屬于罪性。


有聖靈嗎?

羅馬書 8:9-10 如果神的靈住在你們心堙A你們就不屬肉體,乃屬聖靈了。人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。基督若在你們心堙A身體就因罪而死,心靈卻因義而活。

如果一個人是屬基督的,他就被賜與聖靈住在他堶情A他對肉身(罪性)的效忠和從屬就被打破了。雖然罪性仍然與我們住在同一身體堙A我們不再被看作是在我們的罪性堶情A而是在其旁邊,住在聖靈堙C

每個屬基督的都有聖靈住在他堶情C“你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。”【以弗所書 1:13-14】或,“豈不知你們是神的殿,神的靈住在你們媕Y嗎?”【哥林多前書 3:16】“我們不拘是猶太人,是希利尼人,是為奴的,是自主的,都從一位聖靈受洗,成了一個身體,飲于一位聖靈。”【哥林多前書 12:13】

再者,盡管屬于基督,肉身因其罪性還是要死的。這罪性與我們同住在一個身體堙A如保羅說:“我也知道,在我媕Y,就是我肉體之中,沒有良善﹔”【羅馬書 7:18a】雖然我們不再被看作是在罪性堶情A或由罪性所控制。“你們就不屬肉體,乃屬聖靈了。”因此,雖然不再受我們的罪性的控制,但仍然有罪性的存在和影響,如保羅在羅馬書第七章堜畛羲漕獐芊G“既是這樣,就不是我做的,乃是住在我媕Y的罪做的。”【羅馬書 7:17】其結果就是雖然從罪性的奴役下被解脫了出來,信徒將繼續因罪性對信徒行為的影響經歷與罪性的爭戰。“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】

但雖有罪性對信徒行為的影響,更有聖靈住在我們堶情C因此他對基督徒說:“我說:你們當順著聖靈而行,就不放縱肉體的情欲了。”【加拉太書 5:16】已經因信基督而稱義,有一個義的生活的歸宿,聖靈幫助我們在義埵獢C


聖靈賜與生命

羅馬書 8:11 然而,叫耶穌從死奡_活者的靈若住在你們心堙A那叫基督耶穌從死奡_活的,也必借著住在你們心堛爾t靈,使你們必死的身體又活過來。

雖有聖靈住在我們堶情A我們的身體由于罪性依然是必死的。因此,在這一生中不可能達到行為的完美。但是,“使你們必死的身體又活過來”用的是將來時態,指的是將來我們從死奡_活,正像主從死奡_活一樣。因為,“我們若在他死的形狀上與他聯合,也要在他復活的形狀上與他聯合﹔”【羅馬書 6:5】到那時,我們的身體將完全地服從聖靈引導我們的美好愿望。

我想他提醒我們這個事實是要鼓勵我們,雖然我們目前在聖靈埵畾伬n與肉身爭戰,這場戰爭將要打贏,我們將不再為那個爭戰所累。那是我們的命運,我們的歸宿,這樣就把話題轉向下一節。


治死身體的惡行

羅馬書 8:12-13 弟兄們,這樣看來,我們并不是欠肉體的債,去順從肉體活著。你們若順從肉體活著,必要死﹔若靠著聖靈治死身體的惡行,必要活著。

我們不欠肉身的任何債。我們的一切都屬于主,因為他不但創造了我們,還用他的血把我們從神的忿怒中拯救出來,賜給我們一個永恆榮耀的歸宿。因此,我們看到這樣的特征:“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】我們屬于主的人把我們自己與我們的罪性區別開來。我們發誓效忠于聖靈,把我們的罪性,以及其情欲和欲望看作是我們的敵人。“所以要治死你們在地上的肢體,就如淫亂、污穢、邪情、惡欲和貪婪,貪婪就與拜偶像一樣。因這些事,神的忿怒必臨到那悖逆之子。當你們在這些事中活著的時候,也曾這樣行過。但現在你們要棄絕這一切的事,以及惱恨、忿怒、惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、毀謗,并口中污穢的言語。不要彼此說謊,因你們已經脫去舊人和舊人的行為,穿上了新人。這新人在知識上漸漸更新,正如造他主的形像。”【歌羅西書 3:5-10】


神的兒子被神的靈引導

羅馬書 8:14 因為凡被神的靈引導的,都是神的兒子。

注意這堛漱W下文。被神的靈引導是與治死身體的惡行相聯的,如他還在加拉太書婸﹛G“我說:你們當順著聖靈而行,就不放縱肉體的情欲了。因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。但你們若被聖靈引導,就不在律法以下。”【加拉太書 5:16-18】他接下來說到行為。至于有罪的行為他說:“行這樣事的人必不能承受神的國。”【加拉太書 5:21b】而關于聖潔的行為他說:“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】

行為是信徒的一個標記,因此是看出一個人得救的保証的一個根據。因為“我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。”【約翰一書 2:3】“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】因為神的恩典“教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,”【提多書 2:12】

神的兒女可以從他們的行為上看出來。聖靈是如何引導你的呢?


所受的聖靈

羅馬書 8:15-16 你們所受的不是奴仆的心,仍舊害怕﹔所受的乃是兒子的心,因此我們呼叫:“阿爸,父!”聖靈與我們的心同証我們是神的兒女﹔

屬基督的人就不生活在對被定罪的懼怕之中。因著神的恩典,那些在基督堛漱H就不被定罪了,他們的罪已經被基督的血付清了,因此他們永恆的保証不是基于他們所做的工,而是基于基督為他們所做的工。

雖然拯救可以到使人稱義為止,但神超過了那一點,把那些他從前的敵人接納為他的兒女。事實上“受”這個詞不夠強,因為所成就的不止是法律上所有權的移交,而是一個具有新生的特點的重生。因為,“凡接待他的,就是信他名的人,他就賜他們權柄,作神的兒女。這等人不是從血氣生的,不是從情欲生的,也不是從人意生的,乃是從神生的。”【約翰福音 1:12-13】而且,“凡信耶穌是基督的,都是從神而生。”【約翰一書 5:1a】因此,“你們既為兒子,神就差他兒子的靈進入你們(原文作“我們”)的心,呼叫:‘阿爸,父。’”【加拉太書 4:6】

與聖靈的關系是肯定人得救的一個依據。因為“我們所以知道神住在我們堶情A是因他所賜給我們的聖靈。”【約翰一書 3:24b】


為天國的緣故受苦

羅馬書 8:17-18 既是兒女,便是後嗣,就是神的後嗣,和基督同作後嗣。如果我們和他一同受苦,也必和他一同得榮耀。我想現在的苦楚若比起將來要顯于我們的榮耀,就不足介意了。

得救所包含的不只是罪得赦免。得救所包含的也不只是成為聖潔,引起我們行為的改變。因為我們被接納,的確,生到神的家庭堙A并因此就像兒女承受父母的產業一樣,那些由神生的將承受神的基業。

“愿頌贊歸與我們主耶穌基督的父神!他曾照自己的大憐憫,借耶穌基督從死奡_活,重生了我們,叫我們有活潑的盼望,可以得著不能朽壞、不能玷污、不能衰殘、為你們存留在天上的基業。你們這因信蒙神能力保守的人,必能得著所預備,到末世要顯現的救恩。”【彼得前書 1:3-5】

其中的一個方面就是與基督一同作王。因為“有可信的話說:‘我們若與基督同死,也必與他同活﹔我們若能忍耐,也必和他一同作王﹔’”【提摩太後書 2:11-12a】是的,跟隨基督將要受苦。因此保羅和他的同伴四處奔走,“堅固門徒的心,勸他們恆守所信的道。又說:‘我們進入神的國,必須經歷許多艱難。’”【使徒行傳 14:22】同樣,保羅對提摩太說:“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Romans 8:1-17 (web)

Sanctification and the Spirit I

8:1 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus,
who don't walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.
8:2 For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus
made me free from the law of sin and of death.
8:3 For what the law couldn't do, in that it was weak through the flesh,
God did, sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin,
he condemned sin in the flesh;

8:4 that the ordinance of the law might be fulfilled in us,
who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

8:5 For those who live according to the flesh
set their minds on the things of the flesh,
but those who live according to the Spirit,
the things of the Spirit.

8:6 For the mind of the flesh is death,
but the mind of the Spirit is life and peace;

8:7 because the mind of the flesh is hostile towards God;
for it is not subject to God's law, neither indeed can it be.
8:8 Those who are in the flesh can't please God.

8:9 But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit,
if it is so that the Spirit of God dwells in you.
But if any man doesn't have the Spirit of Christ, he is not his.

8:10 If Christ is in you, the body is dead because of sin,
but the spirit is alive because of righteousness.

8:11 But if the Spirit of him who raised up Jesus from the dead dwells in you,
he who raised up Christ Jesus from the dead
will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.

8:12 So then, brothers, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh.

8:13 For if you live after the flesh, you must die;
but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.
8:14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are children of God.
8:15 For you didn't receive the spirit of bondage again to fear,
but you received the Spirit of adoption, by whom we cry, "Abba! Father!"
{Abba is a Chaldee word for father or daddy,
often used affectionately and respectfully in prayer to our Father in heaven.}
8:16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are children of God;

8:17 and if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ;
if indeed we suffer with him, that we may also be glorified with him.


Discussion Questions

Why is there no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus?
From this section, what sort of behavior and mindset would you expect from those who are in Christ?
Is "being controlled by the Spirit", as the NIV puts its, true of all those born of God? (vs 9)
Is your salvation status dependent upon your performance?
Does everyone who belongs to Christ have the Holy Spirit? (vs 10)
What is your most prominent future hope?
Should the Christian's motivation for living the Christian life be based upon fear, or what?
How do you know that you are a child of God?
What sufferings do you share in with Christ?


Comments

Outline

The Law of Sin and Death: You sin, you are condemned
The Law of the Spirit of Life:

Translation Issues

In translating certain phrases in this section, the NIV translation may be forcing certain interpretations which may not be correct. In particular the phrase "controlled by" is simply not in the text, but is simply an NIV interpretation. The following are more literal translations from the greek:

"Sinful nature" = "the flesh"
vs 4 "live according to the sinful nature" = "walk according to the flesh"
vs 5 "live according to the sinful nature" = "are according to the flesh" ("live" is absent)
vs 5 "live in accordance with the Spirit" = "are according to the spirit" ("live" is absent)
vs 6 "The mind of sinful man is death" = "the mind of the flesh is death"
vs 6 "the mind controlled by the Spirit" = "the mind of the spirit"
vs 7 "the sinful mind" = "the mind of the flesh"
vs 8 "Those controlled by the sinful nature" = "they that are in the flesh"
vs 9 "controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit" = "are not in the flesh but in the spirit"

Another issue is where "spirit" should be capitalized. There are no capitals in the greek manuscripts, so capitalization is a matter of interpretation. It is up to the reader to figure out where he is talking about our spirit and where he is referring to the Holy Spirit. In my opinion, much of this section is contrasting "the fleshly man" from the "spiritual man". Jesus once said:

John 3:5,6 "Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit."
The "fleshly man" is one has not been born of the Spirit, a condition in which all of us used to be. By "spiritual man" I mean one who has been born of the Holy Spirit. Such a person also has the Holy Spirit living in him as it says in vs 9 literally. "You are not in the flesh but in the spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His."

Paraphrase of vs 4-9

That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who conform our lifestyle not according to the flesh, but according to the spirit. For they that are fleshly conform their thinking to the desires of the flesh; but they that are spiritual to the desires of the Spirit. For to be fleshly minded results in death; but to be spiritually minded results in life and peace. Because the fleshly mind is enmity against God: for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be. So then they that are fleshly cannot please God. But you are not fleshly but spiritual, if the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he doesn't belong to Christ.


Free from Condemnation

Rom 8:1,2 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death.

Once a person is in Christ they are no longer subject to condemnation. And when is a person included in Christ? "You also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance" Eph 1:13-14a The law of sin and death - which is namely that if you sin, you are condemned - no longer holds for those in Christ. In fact Jesus said, "Whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life." John 5:24 And since there was no good deed that a person does to be saved, for salvation is not of works, neither is that any bad deed that those in Christ can do which would cause them to be condemned, else salvation would be of works. Thus we say: Once saved, always saved.

In addition, due to the nature of regeneration, those who are in Christ characteristically walk in accordance with the Spirit. Though salvation is not dependent upon one's performance, one's performance is a diagnostic indicator of whether or not one is in Christ.


Christ Fulfilled the Law for Us

Rom 8:3,4 For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.

As he demonstrated in chapter 7, due to our sinful nature, the law is ineffective in making us good, let alone justifying us from what sins we commit. Rather our justification and sanctification are actualized through Jesus Christ, who was born into sinful flesh, inheriting the same kind of sinful nature we have. For "we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are— yet was without sin." Heb 4:15 He condemned sin in the flesh to make us righteous.

Notice the phrase "that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us" It doesn't say "in him", but "in us". And goes on to speak of our behavior, those of us who are in Christ. While salvation is not contingent upon fulfilling the righteous requirements of the law, those who are in Christ will inevitably become the kind of people who fulfill such requirements, which is primarily to love God and others. That is the destiny of those who are in Christ. And who is in Christ but those who do not conform their lifestyle to the desires of the sinful nature, but rather to the Spirit who lives in them.


What's On Your Mind?

Rom 8:5-8  For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. Because the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be.  So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

Remember previously Paul said, "So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God" Rom 7:25b Despite the struggle with the sinful nature Paul expresses in Romans 7, he sets his mind on what the Spirit desires, though he admits to failing to perfectly carry it out due to the influence of the sinful nature. But the carnally minded does not even intend to do good, but sets his intentions in accordance with his sinful desires.

The Christian life is firstly about what you think, and only secondly about what you do. What you do should flow from what you think, else you end up in a legalistic lifestyle. Let alone those who set their minds on sinful desires. And "all of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath." Eph 2:3

"in the flesh", which I would infer to mean to define oneself in accordance with the desires of the sinful nature. Less an issue of control than that of allegiance. It's viewing oneself as being inside, subordinate to the sinful nature.


Got the Spirit?

Rom 8:9,10 But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His. And if Christ is in you, the body is dead because of sin, but the Spirit is life because of righteousness.

If a person belongs to Christ, he is given the Holy Spirit to dwell in him and his allegiance and subordination to the sinful nature (the flesh) has been broken. Though the sinful nature dwells beside us in the same body, we are not longer viewed as being inside our sinful nature, but rather beside it, dwelling in the Spirit.

Everyone who belongs to Christ has the Spirit dwelling in them. "And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance" Eph 1:13,14  Or "Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?" 1Cor 3:16  "For by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body——whether Jews or Greeks, whether slaves or free——and have all been made to drink into one Spirit." 1Cor 12:13 

Again, despite belonging to Christ and the Spirit dwelling in us, the body is nonetheless dead because of its sinful nature, which dwells together beside us in the same body, as Paul says, "For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells" Rom 7:18a Though we are no long viewed as being inside or controlled by our sinful nature. The NIV says it this way "You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you." Thus while freed from control of our sinful nature, the presence and influence is still there as Paul described in Romans 7. ("It is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me." Rom 7:17) Consequently though freed from slavery to the sinful nature,  the believer will continue to experience a struggle with the sinful nature with regards to influence over one's behavior. "For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want." Gal 5:17

BUT just as the sinful nature influences the behavior of the saint, so does the Spirit of God who dwells in us. Thus he says to Christians, "Live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature." Gal 5:16 Having been made righteous through faith in Christ, and have a destiny of righteous living, the Spirit helps us to walk in that righteousness.


The Spirit Gives Life

Rom 8:11  And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.

While we presently have the Holy Spirit living in us, our body is presently dead due to the sinful nature. Consequently perfect behavior is not to be expected in this life. But "will also give life" alludes to the future, being in the future tense, of our resurrection from the dead just as the Lord was raised from the dead. For "if we have been united with him like this in his death, we will certainly also be united with him in his resurrection." Rom 6:5 At that time our bodies will perfectly obey our good intentions as the Spirit directs us

I think he reminds us of this fact as an encouragement that though we presently battle against our flesh to walk in the Spirit, the war will be won and we will be freed from that struggle. That is our fate, our destiny, thus the segue into the next verse.


Death to the Deeds of the Flesh

Rom 8:12,13 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors——not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

We owe the flesh nothing. But we owe the Lord everything, for not only did he create us, but saved us from God's wrath through his blood, and has given us a destiny of eternal glory. Consequently we find it characteristic that "those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24 We who belong to Christ make a distinction between ourselves and our sinful nature. We pledge allegiance to the Spirit and have judged our sinful nature with its passions and desires our enemy.  "Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. Because of these things the wrath of God is coming upon the sons of disobedience, in which you yourselves once walked when you lived in them. But now you yourselves are to put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth. Do not lie to one another, since you have put off the old man with his deeds,  and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him" Col 3:5-10


Sons Led by the Spirit

Rom 8:14
For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God.

Notice the context. Being led by the Spirit of God is associated with putting to death the deeds of the body as he also says in Gal 5:16-18 "So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature. For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law." And he goes on to speak about behavior. Concerning sinful behavior he says, "those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God." Gal 5:21b and godly behavior, "Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24

This behavior is an identifying mark of believers, and thus a basis for one's assurance of salvation. For "we know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands" 1John 2:3 and consequently "this is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10 For the grace of God "teaches us to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age" Titus 2:12

Children of God are identified by their behavior. How is the Spirit leading you?


A Spirit of Adoption

Rom 8:15,16 For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, "Abba, Father." The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God

Those who belong to Christ don't live in fear of condemnation. For by God's grace there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, their sins having been atoned for by the blood Christ and thus their eternal security is not based on their works, but upon the work of Christ accomplished for them.

But while salvation could have stopped at justification, God went beyond that, adopting as children those who were formerly his enemies. In fact "adoption" is not a strong enough word in that what was accomplished was not simply a legal transfer of ownership, but a regeneration characteristic of new birth. For "to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God." John 1:12,13 and "Whoever believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God" 1John 5:1a Consequently, "Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, <"Abba>, Father." Gal 4:6

The relationship with the Spirit is a basis of one's assurance of salvation. For "this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us." 1John 3:24b


Suffering for Heaven's Sake

Rom 8:17,18 Now if we are children, then we are heirs— heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

Salvation incorporates more than just forgiveness of sins. It incorporates more than the sanctification which leads to a changed behavior. For we are adopted, indeed born, into God's family and as such just as children receive an inheritance from their parents so also those born of God will receive an inheritance from God.

"Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade— kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time." 1Pet 1:3-5

One aspect of which is reigning with Christ. For "here is a trustworthy saying: If we died with him, we will also live with him; if we endure, we will also reign with him." 2Tim 2:11,12a And yes there will be suffering in following Christ. Thus Paul and his team went around, "strengthening the disciples and encouraging them to remain true to the faith saying, 'We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God.'" Acts 14:22 Likewise Paul said to Timothy, "In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2TIm 3:12


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015