翻譯: English 中文 GB

不饒人的仆人

馬太福音18:23-35  天國好像一個王,要和他仆人算賬。才算的時候,有人帶了一個欠一千萬銀子的來。因為他沒有什么償還之物,主人吩咐把他和他妻子兒女,并一切所有的都賣了償還。那仆人就俯伏拜他說:‘主啊,寬容我,將來我都要還清。’那仆人的主人,就動了慈心,把他釋放了,并且免了他的債。那仆人出來,遇見他的一個同伴,欠他十兩銀子,便揪著他,掐住他的喉嚨說:‘你把所欠的還我。’他的同伴就俯伏央求他說:‘寬容我吧,將來我必還清。’他不肯,竟去把他下在監堙A等他還了所欠的債。眾同伴看見他所做的事就甚憂愁,去把這事都告訴了主人。于是主人叫了他來,對他說:‘你這惡奴才,你央求我,我就把你所欠的都免了。你不應當憐恤你的同伴像我憐恤你嗎?’主人就大怒,把他交給掌刑的,等他還清了所欠的債。你們各人若不從心媊ヴ之A的弟兄,我天父也要這樣待你們了。


問題討論

這個主人免去仆人的債是不是沒有任何條件?
神饒恕我們的罪是不是沒有任何條件?
如果不是的話,條件是什么?或者說,我們應該以什么態度來接受對我們的饒恕?
如果有人求你免去他們欠你的債,你會加上什么條件?妨礙你做出這種饒恕的障礙可能是什么?
你覺得那些罪得到赦免的人的行為會是什么樣的?
如果他們在行為上欠缺,你會得出什么樣的結論?
如果你要償清你自己的罪,你需要付出多少努力或受多少懲罰?


注釋

如果他所說的是一千萬他連得銀子的話,那么這筆債大約值五千五百萬美元($54,600,000,000)。原文堥S有說是銀子,因而有可能是一千萬他連得金子,那么這筆債大約值三十億美元($3,000,000,000)──這當然是不可思議的。誰會給別人借三十億美元呢?就是五千五百萬美元也不可思意。他怎么可能花得了這么多錢呢?但耶穌借此來顯示神對我們的罪的態度,以及認為我們可以自己償還得清是何等的荒唐。他這么說還有另外一個原因。十兩銀子大約值十七美元($17),十兩金子大約值一千美元($1,000),對比十七與五千五百萬或一千與三十億,這顯示出耶穌要求我們在比較我們欠神與別人欠我們的時候所應有的態度。想一想都會使人感到慚愧。

我們要神饒恕我們的罪,就必須有正確的態度。耶穌提倡這個禱告:“免我們的債,如同我們免了人的債。” 馬太福音6:12在這個寓言堙A這個不義的仆人代表唯名的基督徒,雖然他乞求神的饒恕,但沒有付諸應用的信,所以最終沒有得救。盡管他看上去很虔誠,但從他的行為可以看出他沒有把他所欠的債以及他主人對他的饒恕當回事,沒有以真正的謙卑和認罪態度去接受。這樣的人還沒有得救。

雖然得救是白白賜給的,但得救不是無條件的。其條件就是信基督。信基督為我們的罪所做的贖罪工,要求我們真正地看到我們虧欠了神。我們若不能真正地認識到我們的罪,就不能接受基督。我們若說:“我并不是個太壞的人,但如果你覺得我有什么雞毛蒜皮的事沒做對,就原諒我吧。”, 那么我們就不能接受基督。

一個人的行為顯示出他是不是以正確的態度接受了基督。

“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”約翰一書3:10
人若在干犯了他的人乞求他原諒的時候不肯饒恕,就顯示出他沒有真正地接受他對神所犯的罪是多么的深,而神是在何種程都上饒恕了他這一事實。他們沒有謙卑地接受神的道,而是像彼得所寫的那樣:
倘若他們因認識主救主耶穌基督,得以脫離世上的污穢,後來又在其中被纏住制伏,他們末後的景況就比先前更不好了。他們曉得義路,竟背棄了傳給他們的聖命,倒不如不曉得為妙。俗語說得真不錯:“狗所吐的,它轉過來又吃﹔豬洗淨了,又回到泥堨h滾。”這話在他們身上正合式。 彼得後書2:20-22
(這堙宏{識”和“曉得”不是譯自希臘文的“ginoskw”而是譯自“epiginoskw”。“ginoskw”是切身地知道某人的意思,“epiginoskw”是泛泛地知道某人的意思)

有些人曉得福音,他們知道福音的意思,但他們沒有親身經歷過福音或接受福音。他們曉得神,并借著這個知識得到了一些暫時的益處。但因為沒有與神建立起切身的關系,這種知識只會增加他們在審判日所要負的責任。

但神會收回對罪的饒恕嗎?

這個寓言是不是說一個人會失去他的救贖呢?我認為耶穌是要人檢驗自己的行為,看自己是不是已經得救,我認為他不是要人耽心會失去自己已得到的救贖。換句話說,就是我認為這個寓言所講的是一個人是不是已經得救的証明,而不是永恆的保証。

有人報有這樣一種態度,他們認為稱義(罪得赦免)是因著信得來的,但是是靠人的表現來維持的。但這就好象這個仆人在得到他主人的饒恕之後,用這種態度對待他的同伴:“我真的不想饒你,但我不得不這么做,否則我的主人也不饒我。”這不是從心媊ヴ丑C這種態度與他根本不饒恕他的同伴相同,反映出他不珍視他主人對他的饒恕。的確,以這種態度,如果他相信他可以瞞過主人的話,他是不會饒他的同伴的。

這個寓言與現實的區別在于神是全知的。而這個主人在個仆人的行為顯明之前,不知道他是以什么態度接受對他的饒恕的。但神知道。所以在現實堙A這樣一個人求神饒恕他的罪未必能真正地得到,因未他的信心的質量不能被神接受以使他得救。但別的基督徒則會把他當作基督堛漣怚S,因為在他的行為証明相反之前,沒有別的辦法。

“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H” 歌林多後書13:5
煉獄

有些人持有煉獄的觀點,他們解釋說這几個講到懲罰仆人或哀哭切齒的寓言所指的并不是那些沒有得救的人,而是得救的人被投入所謂的煉獄──要么是出于公義為他們的罪受罰,要么是通過受刑潔淨他們的罪性。

然而,這個觀點不但違背福音的基本概念,與整個聖經相抵觸,就是從理論上也講不通。考慮人們所提出的兩個在這種假設的煉獄堛滷“峞C

1.其一就是“得救”的人在死的時候可能還有一些罪沒被赦免,所以他們必需為這些罪受刑以滿足神的公義。

2.另一個說法是“得救”的人的罪雖然從公義上講得到了赦免,但他們的罪性──他們內在的犯罪傾向──必須通過在煉獄堥刑來洗清。 所以總的來說,煉獄的概念淡化了罪的後果,貶低了基督的救贖工的價值。


Rap

There once was a king wanting to settle accounts
With his servants and calculated all the amounts
These servants owed to the king in question
His demand for repayment was more than a suggestion
There was a servant who owed him quite alot
But could he repay? No, he could not
So the master demanded all his things be sold
He and his family, his silver and gold
Then the servant fell to his knees
Hoping his master to appease
"Be patient with me. I know that I lack.
But if you wait, the debt I'll pay back".
The master took pity on him, you know
And cancelled his debt and let him go
But the servant then went out and found a fellow man
Who owed him just a little - grabbed him and began
To choke the fellow servant demanding he be paid.
But the servant fell to his knees trembling and afraid
"I will pay you back everything I owe.
Please just wait a while. Don't take this as a 'no'"
But the servant was impatient and threw him into jail.
But word got to the king of this horrid tale.
And called the wicked servant in before his throne
"I forgave, you should too, this should have known.
But now you have revealed your real attitude
And so I am removing all your latitude."
He threw him into jail to pay back all he owed.
Being tortured day and night even after growing old.
This kind of treatment my Father will impart.
If you don't forgive your brothers and do it from your heart


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Unforgiving Servant

Matt 18:23-35  Therefore the Kingdom of Heaven is like a certain king, who wanted to reconcile accounts with his servants.  When he had begun to reconcile, one was brought to him who owed him ten thousand talents.  But because he couldn’t pay, his lord commanded him to be sold, with his wife, his children, and all that he had, and payment to be made.  The servant therefore fell down and kneeled before him, saying, ‘Lord, have patience with me, and I will repay you all!’  The lord of that servant, being moved with compassion, released him, and forgave him the debt.  "But that servant went out, and found one of his fellow servants, who owed him one hundred denarii, and he grabbed him, and took him by the throat, saying, ‘Pay me what you owe!’  "So his fellow servant fell down at his feet and begged him, saying, ‘Have patience with me, and I will repay you!’  He would not, but went and cast him into prison, until he should pay back that which was due.  So when his fellow servants saw what was done, they were exceedingly sorry, and came and told to their lord all that was done.  Then his lord called him in, and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt, because you begged me.  Shouldn’t you also have had mercy on your fellow servant, even as I had mercy on you?’   His lord was angry, and delivered him to the tormentors, until he should pay all that was due to him.  So my heavenly Father will also do to you, if you don’t each forgive your brother from your hearts for his misdeeds." (web)


Discussion Questions

Was the master's forgiveness of the debt unconditional?
Is God's forgiveness of our sins unconditional?
If not, what is the condition? Or with which kind of attitude must we receive the forgiveness?
If someone asks to forgive their debts against you, what conditions would you attach and what barriers may hinder you from offering such forgiveness?
What kind of behavior would you expect from those who have had their sins forgiven?
If their behavior is deficient, what might you infer?
If you were to pay back your own sins, how much effort or punishment would that require?


Comments

If he is referring to talents of gold, ten thousand talents of gold would be about three billion dollars ($3,000,000,000) - This of course was absurd. Who would lend someone $3,000,000,000? And how could he have possibly have spend so much money? But Jesus used this illustration to reveal God's attitude towards our sins and how absurd it is to think that we can pay it back ourselves. But also for another reason. One hundred denari was about $1000, and the contrast between these two numbers reveals the attitude that Jesus demands we take on considering our indebtedness to God compared to others indebtedness to us. It can be humiliating to consider.

We can only obtain the forgiveness of sins which God offers us if we receive it with the right attitude. Jesus advocates the prayer, "Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors." Mt 6:12 The wicked servant in the parable represents the nominal Christian who though he begs forgiveness from God doesn't have an application oriented faith and so ultimately is not saved. Though he may have seen sincere, yet by his behavior it appears that he considered his debt and the master's forgiveness to be trivial. There are those who may pray a prayer for salvation, but who lack serious conviction of sin and don't consider the implications of being forgiven, not receiving it with true humility and conviction. These are not saved.

Though salvation is a free gift, it is not unconditional. It is conditioned upon faith in Christ.Putting our faith in the atoning work of Christ for the forgiveness of our sins requires that we view ourselves as truly in debt to God. We cannot receive Christ without true conviction of sin. We cannot receive him with the attitude: "I'm not really all that bad a person, but whatever trivial things you have against me, forgive me for these."

A person's behavior reveals whether he has received Christ with a proper attitude.

"This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10
But those who don't forgive others who sin against them and ask for forgiveness, reveal that they haven't really accepted the fact of the depth of their own sinfulness against God and the extent to which God had supposedly forgiven them. They hadn't received the word in humility. But rather they are like those Peter writes about:
If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. Of them the proverbs are true: "A dog returns to its vomit," and, "A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud." 2Pet 2:20-22
(Here "knowing" and "known" are not "ginoskw" g.k. = relational knowledge as in knowing someone personally, but "epiginoskw" g.k. = having knowledge about someone)

There are those who know about the gospel, they understand it, but they haven't experienced it or received it personally. They know about God, and through that knowledge experience some short term benefits. But without having established a personal relationship with God, such knowledge simply increased their level of accountability on judgement day.

But does God take back forgiveness of sins?

Does this parable teach that a person can lose his salvation? While I think that Jesus meant for people to question their salvation status by evaluating their behavior,  I don't think his point was to fear the loss of salvation, having obtained it. In other words I think this parable deals more with the issue of assurance of salvation rather than eternal security.

There are those who have the attitude that justification (the forgiveness of sins) is obtained by faith, but maintained by one's performance, like forgiving others. But this would be like the servant, having been forgiven by the master, approaching his fellow servant with the attitude - "I don't really want to forgive you, but I do so reluctantly just so the master won't take back the forgiveness of my debt." This is not forgiving from the heart. This attitude reveals the same kind of lack of appreciation of master's forgiveness as if he had not forgiven his fellow servant. Indeed with this attitude he would not have forgiven his fellow servant at all if he believed he could have gotten away with it without word getting back to the master.

The difference between this parable and reality is that God knows all things. The master doesn't know with what attitude the servant received the forgiveness of his debts until his behavior revealed it. But God does know. Thus in reality such a person having asked for the forgiveness of sins may not have actually received it as he may not have a quality of faith acceptable to God for salvation. But other Christians would reckon him as a brother in Christ and no basis for doing otherwise, until his behavior revealed otherwise.

"Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you-- unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5
Purgatory

There are also some who hold to a purgatorial concept and for a number of parables that speak of punishment of servants or weeping and gnashing teeth, they interpret to mean that such people don't lose salvation, but rather get thrown into some sort of purgatorial situation - either to pay the penalty for their sins judicially or to be cleansed from their sinfulness through being tormented.

However not only is this concept contrary to the basic concept of the gospel of grace as well as the rest of the Bible, but it also simply won't work even on a theoretical basis. Consider the two ideas that people have proposed as to what goes on in this hypothetical purgatory situation.

1. One idea is that people who are "redeemed" may die with some sins left over which haven't been forgiven and so they have to pay the penalty for these sins to satisfy God's justice.

2. The other idea is that people who are "redeemed" have been judicially forgiven of sin, but must be cleansed of their sinfulness - their innate tendency to sin - by being tormented in purgatory. So in general the concept of purgatory simply trivializes the consequence of sin and so devalues the atoning work of Christ.


Rap

There once was a king wanting to settle accounts
With his servants and calculated all the amounts
These servants owed to the king in question
His demand for repayment was more than a suggestion
There was a servant who owed him quite alot
But could he repay? No, he could not
So the master demanded all his things be sold
He and his family, his silver and gold
Then the servant fell to his knees
Hoping his master to appease
"Be patient with me. I know that I lack.
But if you wait, the debt I'll pay back".
The master took pity on him, you know
And cancelled his debt and let him go
But the servant then went out and found a fellow man
Who owed him just a little - grabbed him and began
To choke the fellow servant demanding he be paid.
But the servant fell to his knees trembling and afraid
"I will pay you back everything I owe.
Please just wait a while. Don't take this as a 'no'"
But the servant was impatient and threw him into jail.
But word got to the king of this horrid tale.
And called the wicked servant in before his throne
"I forgave, you should too, this should have known.
But now you have revealed your real attitude
And so I am removing all your latitude."
He threw him into jail to pay back all he owed.
Being tortured day and night even after growing old.
This kind of treatment my Father will impart.
If you don't forgive your brothers and do it from your heart

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Feb 10,2009