翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音關于背叛和不認

猶大

除酵餅

馬太福音 26:23-25
23 耶穌回答說:“同我蘸手在盤子堛滿A就是他要賣我。
24 人子必要去世,正如經上指著他所寫的,
  但賣人子的人有禍了!
  那人不生在世上倒好。”

25 賣耶穌的猶大問他說:
  “拉比,是我嗎?”
  耶穌說:“你說的是。”

如我們在前面的查經奡ㄗ鴘滿A猶大是從逾越節宴席上除去的酵。也許耶穌選擇他作使徒──十二使徒中的一位──是要警告基督徒將來這種人將在他們中間出現,甚至在領袖中。關于以色列的領袖,他已經把這一點說的很明白,但教會也應該有判斷和審斷那些聲稱在信中的人。“因為審判教外的人與我何幹?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人,有神審判他們。你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。” 【哥林多前書 5:12,13】保羅也警告以弗所教會的長老們說:就是你們中間,也必有人起來,說悖謬的話,要引誘門徒跟從他們。所以你們應當儆醒,記念我三年之久,晝夜不住地流淚,勸戒你們各人。” 【使徒行傳 20:30-31】

為什麼猶大要背叛耶穌?

馬太福音 26:14-16
14 當下,十二門徒埵酗@個稱為加略人猶大的,去見祭司長說:
15 “我把他交給你們,你們愿意給我多少錢?”
  他們就給了他三十塊錢。

16 從那時候,他就找機會要把耶穌交給他們。

猶大圖的是錢。關于他決定背叛基督的最早的記錄可見于馬太福音和馬可福音。兩本書都記錄了這件事發生在一個女人把至貴的香膏用在耶穌身上之後。約翰福音記錄說反對這樣浪費錢是猶大。約翰福音說:“他說這話,并不是挂念窮人,乃因他是個賊,又帶著錢囊,常取其中所存的。”【約翰福音 12:6】猶大希望從別人的慈善發財。他就像有些“基督徒”出于貪婪去偷別人出于慈善捐的錢一樣。如果耶穌不在場,這種人還會教假教訓來謀利,如保羅寫到:

“若有人傳異教,不服從我們主耶穌基督純正的話與那合乎敬虔的道理,他是自高自大,一無所知,專好問難,爭辯言詞,從此就生出嫉妒、分爭、毀謗、妄疑,并那壞了心術,失喪真理之人的爭競。他們以敬虔為得利的門路【提摩太前書 6:3-5】

猶大也許被這個女人的慷慨大方所羞辱。因為他要求所有的捐獻都經過他的手和他的錢囊。今天有些人要求你對神的事奉必須經過他們和他們的“事工”。他們不欣賞別人的事工。如過你沒有把錢給他們,你就不是在事奉基督。他們侮辱和嘲笑你,聲稱你的努力都是白費。那是猶大!

自殺

馬太福音 27:3-5
3 這時候,賣耶穌的猶大看見耶穌已經定了罪,
  就後悔,把那三十塊錢拿回來給祭司長和長老說:

4 “我賣了無辜之人的血是有罪了。”
  他們說:“那與我們有什麼相幹?你自己承當吧。”

5 猶大就把那銀錢丟在殿堙A出去吊死了

有些人認為猶大悔改了,因此得了救。但這不是正確的悔改。有很多人,特別是屬非基督教的人,認識到他們是罪人,認識到他們犯了罪。但那并不能使他們得救。這塈畯怓搢黖S大沒有尋求對他所犯的罪的饒恕,而是決定為他自己的罪付出代價。他把自己放在神的地位上,作他自己的審判官和執刑官──把神排除在外。他拒絕了基督為他的罪所付出的贖罪祭。他沒有求告神作他的救主。

但這也說到了機構化宗教領袖的不負責。因為這埵酗@個人來向他們承認自己的罪,而且顯然有悔改的愿望。但他們的回答是什麼呢?“那與我們不相幹!”因此他們也是把他推去自殺的幫凶。但猶大找的就是這樣的人。為什麼他不去找其他使徒承認自己的罪呢?因為他沒有與他們一道的愿望。他與那些把基督釘十字架的人認同。從某種意義上說他比他們更壞,因為他更知道基督,因此盡管是個叛徒,他可以肯定地說耶穌是無辜的。這特別有意思,因為人通常的本性是出于忿怒不公地給人定罪,然後又給自己開脫。但猶大不能給這樣的背叛開脫。也許他沒有料到這會導致基督的死。我們常常低估罪的效果。而我們也會過高地估計別人的“良善”。

馬太福音 27:6-10
6 祭司長拾起銀錢來說:
  “這是血價,不可放在庫堙C”

7 他們商議,就用那銀錢買了窯戶的一塊田,為要埋葬外鄉人。
8 所以那塊田直到今日還叫作“血田”。
9 這就應了先知耶利米的話,說:
  “他們用那三十塊錢,就是被估定之人的價錢,是以色列人中所估定的,

10 買了窯戶的一塊田。這是照著主所吩咐我的。”

摩西律法沒有特別地說到“血錢”,也沒有說到把血錢放在庫堙C但也許他們從【申命記 23:18】得到了一個特別的應用,這一節說:“娼妓所得的錢,或孌童(原文作“狗”)所得的價,你不可帶入耶和華你神的殿還愿,因為這兩樣都是耶和華你神所憎惡的。”我想他們合理地將此推廣到包括所有靠罪的行為得來的錢。但如果是這樣的話,那麼他們這就是承認耶穌的確是無辜的。這是另一個這類假冒為善的人的典型例子,注重小事,但同時忽略更重要的事。“你們這瞎眼領路的,蠓虫你們就濾出來,駱駝你們倒吞下去。”【馬太福音 23:24】

這堣犍峟C利米的話其實記錄在撒迦利亞書堙C對這個差異有三種解釋。一是文字埵釩鷐g的錯誤,比如撒迦利亞的縮寫和耶利米的縮寫有可能被搞混。二是馬太福音在這堨i能用“耶利米”泛指先知。或者耶利米口頭上說了這個預言,但沒有寫下來。

讀一下撒迦利亞書第十一章堻o個預言的上下文很有啟發。

4 耶和華我的神如此說:
  “你撒迦利亞要牧養這將宰的群羊。

5 買他們的宰了他們,以自己為無罪。
  賣他們的說:‘耶和華是應當稱頌的,因我成為富足。
  牧養他們的并不憐恤他們。”

這正是猶大和宗教領袖的態度。

10 我折斷那稱為榮美的杖,表明我廢棄與萬民所立的約
11 當日就廢棄了。這樣,那些仰望我的困苦羊,
  就知道所說的是耶和華的話。

12 我對他們說:
  “你們若以為美,就給我工價,不然,就罷了。”
  于是他們給了三十塊錢,作為我的工價。

13 耶和華吩咐我說:
  “要把眾人所估定美好的價值,丟給窯戶。”
  我便將這三十塊錢,在耶和華的殿中丟給窯戶了。

這婸”鴗@個約被廢棄,就如耶穌在最後的晚餐上說一個新的約被建立。注意到“估定美好的價值”這個短語,然而這是主耶和華在說話。猶大給主耶和華估定的價值是三十個銀錢。(你給神估定的價值是多少呢?)最後他所賺的錢和他一起都進了墳墓。罪的工價乃是死。


彼得

馬太福音 26:31-35
31 那時,耶穌對他們說:
  “今夜你們為我的緣故,都要跌倒。
  因為經上記著說:‘我要擊打牧人,羊就分散了。’

32 但我復活以後,要在你們以先往加利利去。”
33 彼得說:“眾人雖然為你的緣故跌倒,我卻永不跌倒。”
34 耶穌說:“我實在告訴你,今夜雞叫以先,
  你要三次不認我。”

35 彼得說:
  “我就是必須和你同死,也總不能不認你。”
  眾門徒都是這樣說。

馬太福音 26:69-75
69 彼得在外面院子塈今菕A有一個使女前來說:
  “你素來也是同那加利利人耶穌一伙的。”

70 彼得在眾人面前卻不承認,說:
  “我不知道你說的是什麼。”

71 既出去,到了門口,又有一個使女看見他,就對那堛漱H說:
  “這個人也是同拿撒勒人耶穌一伙的。”

72 彼得又不承認,并且起誓說:
  “我不認得那個人。”

73 過了不多的時候,旁邊站著的人前來,對彼得說:
  “你真是他們一黨的。你的口音把你露出來了。”

74 彼得就發咒起誓地說:
  “我不認得那個人。”立時,雞就叫了。

75 彼得想起耶穌所說的話:
  “雞叫以先,你要三次不認我。”
  他就出去痛哭。

猶大的背叛和彼得的不認有某些類似之處。兩者都是為了他們自身的益處。猶大圖的是錢,而彼得則想保全自己的性命。兩個都是罪人。但兩人之間也有重要的區別。雖然猶大的背叛行為是他在某個時刻幹的,但猶大的背叛是他所選擇的罪的生活方式的長時間的積累。但彼得的那個行為與他的特徵不符。猶大是跳進罪堛滿A而彼得是跌進去的。那是肉身的一時軟弱,如耶穌在園子堜珝t示的。“總要儆醒禱告,免得入了迷惑。你們心靈固然愿意,肉體卻軟弱了。”【馬太福音 26:41】我們從他開始寧愿同死的話可以看出他的心靈是愿意的。很多時候我們想做某些事,但發現我們的肉身阻止將其行出來。在面對突然的懼怕時猶為如此。它們往往引發條件反射。在我們心靈堛漪O什麼不能由這種條件反射來評估,而要用我們的生活方式。這就是猶大和彼得之間的區別。

後來彼得自己寫到招致滅亡的那種“不認”。

從前在百姓中有假先知起來,將來在你們中間也必有假師傅,私自引進陷害人的異端,連買他們的主他們也不承認,自取速速的滅亡。 【彼得後書 2:1】

耶穌教導說:

“凡在人面前認我的,我在我天上的父面前,也必認他。
 凡在人面前不認我的,我在我天上的父面前,也必不認他。”
【馬太福音 10:32-33】

保羅寫到:

“我們若能忍耐,也必和他一同作王﹔
 我們若不認他,他也必不認我們﹔”
【提摩太後書 2:12】

但這說的不是不可饒恕的罪。他們在這婸〞漪O一個永久的選擇。但彼得沒有從深信上不認耶穌,而只是出于肉身暫時的軟弱。彼得後來的確公開地承認耶穌。如果他沒有的話,是的,主在審判日上將不認他。但注意到耶穌在這件事之前所說的:

“西門,西門,撒但想要得著你們,好篩你們,像篩麥子一樣。但我已經為你祈求,叫你不至于失了信心。你回頭以後,要堅固你的弟兄。”【路加福音 22:31-32】

耶穌知道他會不認他。看上去盡管他禱告他不至于失了信心,但他知到他將失了信心!當彼得不認耶穌時,他難道沒有失了信心嗎?是的,但這不是耶穌在這堜畛羲滿C在這堨L說的是永久的失去──完全地失去。而悔改的門總是開著的。

有意思的是注意到耶穌對猶大和彼得的不同態度,盡管他們類似的行為。他完全給猶大定罪。但他卻為彼得禱告,給予鼓勵。這塈畯怓搢鴠L甚至把將來堅固弟兄的責任交給彼得,盡管事實上彼得將暫時地不認他。這就是耶穌對待真正的信徒的態度,盡管他們暫時地在罪上跌倒。甚至在罪尚未行出之前,他就饒恕了。而且這種罪不使他們失去事奉的資格。



Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Betrayal and The Denial

Judas

The Unleavened Bread

Matt 26:
23  Jesus replied, "The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl with me will betray me.
24  The Son of Man will go just as it is written about him.
But woe to that man who betrays the Son of Man!
It would be better for him if he had not been born."
25  Then Judas, the one who would betray him, said, "Surely not I, Rabbi?"
Jesus answered, "Yes, it is you."

As I mentioned in the previous study guide, Judas was the leaven cast out from the Passover feast. Perhaps Jesus chose him as a disciple - one of the Twelve - as a warning to Christians in the future that such people may be in their ranks even among the leadership. He already made this clear concerning the religious leadership of Israel, but the church should also be discerning and judge concerning those supposedly within the faith. What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. "Expel the wicked man from among you." 1Cor 5:12,13 And so Paul also warns the Ephesian elders in Acts 20 saying, "Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them. So be on your guard!" Acts 20:30,31

Why did Judas Betray Jesus?

Matt 26:
14  Then one of the Twelve-- the one called Judas Iscariot-- went to the chief priests
15  and asked, "What are you willing to give me if I hand him over to you?"
So they counted out for him thirty silver coins.
16  From then on Judas watched for an opportunity to hand him over.

Judas was after money. The earliest record of his decision to betray Christ is found in Matthew and Mark both accounts of which follow the incident in which a woman had poured expensive perfume on Jesus. John records that it was Judas who objected to this waste of money. Then in John 12:6 it says, "He did not say this because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief; as keeper of the money bag, he used to help himself to what was put into it." Judas was hoping to get rich from the charity of others. He is like some "Christians" who are motivated by greed and steal what is given by others in charity. If Jesus is not around, these kind of people will also teach false doctrine for the purpose of financial gain, as Paul writes:

"If anyone teaches false doctrines and does not agree to the sound instruction of our Lord Jesus Christ and to godly teaching,  he is conceited and understands nothing. He has an unhealthy interest in controversies and quarrels about words that result in envy, strife, malicious talk, evil suspicions  and constant friction between men of corrupt mind, who have been robbed of the truth and who think that godliness is a means to financial gain." 1Tim 6:3-5
Judas was probably humiliated at the woman's generosity. For he demanded that all charity should go through him and his money bag. And there are some today who demand that your service to God should be through them and their "ministry". They don't appreciate other people's ministries. If you're not giving money to them then you are not serving Christ. And they insult and mock you claiming that your efforts are a waste. That's Judas!

The Suicide

Matt 27:
3  When Judas, who had betrayed him, saw that Jesus was condemned,
he was seized with remorse and returned the thirty silver coins to the chief priests and the elders.
4  "I have sinned," he said, "for I have betrayed innocent blood."
"What is that to us?" they replied. "That's your responsibility."
5  So Judas threw the money into the temple and left. Then he went away and hanged himself.

Some reckon that Judas repented and was saved. But this is not a proper repentance. There are many, especially in non-Christian religions, who recognize that they are sinners and that they have sinned. That doesn't save them. Here we see that Judas was not looking for the forgiveness of his sins, but rather he was determined to pay the penalty for his own sin. He put himself in the place of God and acted as his own judge and executioner - leaving God out of the picture. He rejected Christ as the atoning sacrifice for his sins. And he didn't call upon God as his Savior.

But this also speaks of the irresponsibility of the institutional religious leaders. For here was a man who came to them confessing his sins and with an apparent desire to repent. But what was their response? "We don't care!" Thus they were also willing accomplices in pushing him to suicide. But then again these are the type of people that Judas went to. Why didn't he go to the other disciples and confess his sins? Because he had no intention of joining them. He identified himself with the same people who crucified Christ. In a sense he was worst than them in that he knew Christ more and thus even as a betrayer could say confidently that Jesus was innocent. This is particularly interesting in view of the fact that it is commonly human nature to condemn unjustly out of anger and then afterwards justify oneself. But Judas simply could not justify such a betrayal. Perhaps he didn't think it would lead to Christ's death. Often we underestimate the effects of sin. And we may also overestimate the "goodness" of other people.

The Thirty Silver Coins

Matt 27:
6  The chief priests picked up the coins and said,
"It is against the law to put this into the treasury, since it is blood money."
7  So they decided to use the money to buy the potter's field as a burial place for foreigners.
8  That is why it has been called the Field of Blood to this day.
9  Then what was spoken by Jeremiah the prophet was fulfilled:
"They took the thirty silver coins, the price set on him by the people of Israel,
10  and they used them to buy the potter's field, as the Lord commanded me."

There is nothing in the Law of Moses that specifically speaks of "blood money" nor or putting blood money into the treasury. However they may have derived a specific application from Deut 23:18 which says, "You must not bring the earnings of a female prostitute or of a male prostitute into the house of the LORD your God to pay any vow, because the LORD your God detests them both." And I think they appropriately expanded this to incorporate all money which is a product of sinful behavior. But if this is the case, then it is an admission on their part that Jesus was indeed innocent. Here was yet another classical example of the hypocrisy of these people, making much of minor things while neglecting the more important things. "You blind guides! You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel." Matt 23:24

The reference to Jeremiah is actually recorded in Zechariah. There have been three explanations for this discrepancy. One is that there was simply a transliteration error in the text, as the abbreviations for Jeremiah and Zechariah could be confused. Secondly it could be that by "Jeremiah" Matthew is simply referring to the prophets generically. Or that Jeremiah also prophecied this in an oral rather than written tradition.

It is quite insightful to read the context of the prophecy in Zechariah chapter 11.

4 "Pasture the flock marked for slaughter.
5  Their buyers slaughter them and go unpunished.
Those who sell them say, 'Praise the LORD, I am rich!' Their own shepherds do not spare them.
This was the attitude of Judas and the religious leaders.
10 I took my staff called Favor and broke it, revoking the covenant I had made with all the nations.
11  It was revoked on that day, and so the afflicted of the flock who were watching me knew it was the word of the LORD.
12  I told them, "If you think it best, give me my pay; but if not, keep it." So they paid me thirty pieces of silver.
13  And the LORD said to me, "Throw it to the potter"-- the handsome price at which they priced me! So I took the thirty pieces of silver and threw them into the house of the LORD to the potter.
Here it speaks of a covenant being broken, just as Jesus at the Last Supper spoke of a New Covenant being established. Notice also the phrase "they priced me", yet it was the Lord God who was speaking. Judas valued the Lord God at 30 pieces of silver. (How much do you value God?) In the end his earnings literally ended up in a cemetery as did he. The wages of sin is death.


Peter

Matt 26:
31  Then Jesus told them, "This very night you will all fall away on account of me,
for it is written: "'I will strike the shepherd, and the sheep of the flock will be scattered.'
32  But after I have risen, I will go ahead of you into Galilee."
33  Peter replied, "Even if all fall away on account of you, I never will."
34  "I tell you the truth," Jesus answered, "this very night, before the rooster crows,
you will disown me three times."
35  But Peter declared, "Even if I have to die with you, I will never disown you."
And all the other disciples said the same.

Matt 26:
69  Now Peter was sitting out in the courtyard, and a servant girl came to him.
"You also were with Jesus of Galilee," she said.
70  But he denied it before them all. "I don't know what you're talking about," he said.
71  Then he went out to the gateway, where another girl saw him and said to the people there,
"This fellow was with Jesus of Nazareth."
72  He denied it again, with an oath: "I don't know the man!"
73  After a little while, those standing there went up to Peter and said,
"Surely you are one of them, for your accent gives you away."
74  Then he began to call down curses on himself and he swore to them,
"I don't know the man!" Immediately a rooster crowed.
75  Then Peter remembered the word Jesus had spoken:
"Before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times."
And he went outside and wept bitterly.

There are some similarities between Judas' betrayal and Peter's denial. Both did so for their own personal benefit. Judas was after money and Peter wanted to preserve his life. Both were sinners. But there are also significant differences. Although this was a act committed at a point in time, Judas' betrayal was the culmination of a prolonged chosen lifestyle of sin. But Peter's act was out of character. Judas jumped into sin whereas Peter stumbled into it. It was a temporary weakness of the flesh, as Jesus alluded to in the garden. "Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak." Mt 26:41 And as we can see in his first statement of devotion to death the spirit was willing. Many times there are things which we intend, but find resistance from our flesh in carrying them out. And this is particularly true when confronted with sudden fears. They tend to invoke a knee jerk reaction.What is on our heart and in our spirit cannot be evaluated by such knee jerk reactions, but by our chosen lifestyle. And this is the difference between Judas and Peter.

Later Peter himself would write of the kind of "denying" that brings condemnation.

2Pe 2:1  But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them-- bringing swift destruction on themselves.
But what of Jesus' teaching that
"Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.
But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven." Mt 10:32,33
Or of Paul's writings:
"if we endure, we will also reign with him.
If we disown him, he will also disown us;" 2Ti 2:12,13
But this is not speaking of an unpardonable sin. The disowning they are speaking of here is a permanent decision. Whereas Peter had not disowned Jesus with conviction but only due to a temporary weakness of the flesh. Peter did indeed go on to publically acknowledge Jesus. If he hadn't then yes he would have also been disowned on the judgment day. But notice what Jesus said beforehand of this matter:
Luke 22:31,32  "Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers."
Jesus knew he would he would disown him. It seems despite the fact that he prays for his faith not to fail, yet he expects his faith to fail! For when Peter denied Jesus, didn't his faith fail? Yes, but that is not what Jesus is talking about here. Here he is speaking of a permanent failure - a complete falling away. Whereas repentance is always an open door.

It is interesting to note the difference of Jesus' attitude between Judas and Peter despite the similarities of their actions. Judas he condemns outright. Peter he prays for and encourages. Here we see Him even giving Peter future responsibilities to strengthen the brethren even inspite of the fact that Peter would temporarily deny him. This is Jesus' attitude towards true believers who fall into temporary sin. He forgives even before the acts are committed. But also such sins do not disqualify them for service.


Verses quoted from the NIV version
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jun 12,2013