翻譯:English 简体中文

性與成為聖潔

最近參加了波士頓地區隸屬于一個福音派教會基督徒弟兄的早餐聚會,談話間說起了適合青少年閱讀的讀物。有個人提議說讓青少年讀黃色讀物(也就是說,有關性的讀物而不是圖片),以鼓勵他們讀書。他辯解說,讓年青人對讀書產生興趣比性的純潔更重要,因為年青人反正會有性行為,這是沒辦法的事。我最近的另一個經歷是在找房客的過程中發現,有很多年青的單身男子公開地稱他們自己是“基督徒”, 同時還公開地稱他們自己是“同性戀”或“雙性戀”。在美國,“基督徒”對于性的行為和態度與非基督徒的區別越來越小。

性的純潔是神的明確旨意

聖經說性的純潔是基督徒生活中最重要的一個應用。你要知道神對你的生活的旨意嗎?在新約堣ㄕh幾處明確地說神的旨意的地方有下面這一段:

“神的旨意就是要你們成為聖潔,遠避淫行。要你們各人曉得怎樣用聖潔、尊貴守著自己的身體,不放縱私欲的邪情,像那不認識神的外邦人。不要一個人在這事上越分,欺負他的弟兄﹔因為這一類的事,主必報應,正如我預先對你們說過,又切切囑咐你們的。神召我們,本不是要我們沾染污穢,乃是要我們成為聖潔。所以那棄絕的,不是棄絕人,乃是棄絕那賜聖靈給你們的神。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 4:3-8】

很多基督徒在這個問題上受騙了

如果你拒絕這些指示,你是在拒絕神。性的純潔在基督徒的生活中不是可有可無的。奸淫的人不能承受神的國。很多基督徒在這件事上受騙了。

“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】

基督徒不應該有婚姻之外的性行為。神設定性行為只限于婚姻關系之中。

如果你通奸,有婚前性行為,手淫,同性戀,或諸如此類,那麼你就沒有在過基督徒的生活。在遵行神的旨意上你嚴重地失敗了。要嚴肅地對待這件事。

作罪的奴仆的欺騙性

很多人受自由恩典神學的欺騙,不但認為人的行為與他們的得救狀態沒有任何關聯,而且基督徒是罪的奴仆,因此是可以原諒的。而事實上,基督徒不再是罪的奴仆,因此沒有借口繼續犯罪。考慮甚至耶穌訓誡約翰福音第八章堥滬茬q奸的女人。他對她說:“去吧。從此不要再犯罪了。”【約翰福音 8:11b】他沒有給她留任何餘地或借口。耶穌同樣對約翰福音第五章那個病了三十八年的人說:“你已經痊愈了。不要再犯罪。恐怕你遭遇的更加利害。”【約翰福音 5:14b】這些也可以被看作是對基督徒的訓誡。那是你的選擇。你有選擇不再犯罪的自由。

習慣或選擇沒有區別

這些遣責奸淫的經文沒有區別那些感到自己是不情愿的受奸淫的奴役的人和那些故意選擇接受奸淫作為生活方式的人。是習慣還是選擇沒有區別。

性的視覺

男人特別容易因性的視覺墮入奸淫。

“只是我告訴你們,凡看見婦女就動淫念的,這人心堣w經與她犯奸淫了。”【馬太福音 5:28】

而考慮到耶穌接下來在第29節所講的,表明這種罪是多麼嚴重。

“若是你的右眼叫你跌倒,就剜出來丟掉。寧可失去百體中的一體,不叫全身丟在地獄堙C”【馬太福音 5:29】

這是叫你丟在地獄堛漯F西,就如【哥林多前書 6:9-10】所講的,基督徒往往被騙,以為他們可以過奸淫的生活,不用擔心進地獄。(另見自由恩典神學。)

約伯知道這種誘惑,并提出這樣一個應用: “我與眼睛立約,怎能戀戀瞻望處女呢?”【約伯記 31:1】

不要為肉體安排

“總要披戴主耶穌基督,不要為肉體安排,去放縱私欲。”【羅馬書 13:14】

你有沒有為肉體安排去滿足你肉身的欲望,比如存黃色圖片?或安排在隱密的地方約會,以期有性行為發生?你有沒有買避孕套以防的確發生行關系。或者也許你手淫,為你的肉體提供性玩具。把這些東西全扔掉。要安排在婚姻之外完全沒有性行為。不要為肉體安排,不要安排任何這樣的性行為。

戰勝奸淫

聖經命令說:“所以要治死你們在地上的肢體,就如淫亂、污穢、邪情、惡欲和貪婪,貪婪就與拜偶像一樣”【歌羅西書 3:5】經上說:“至于淫亂,并一切污穢,或是貪婪,在你們中間連提都不可,方合聖徒的體統。”【以弗所書 5:3】“你們要逃避淫行。”【哥林多前書 6:18a】

雖然很多基督徒認識到這些事實,并表示要性純潔的愿望,但很多卻給他們奸淫的行為找借口說他們太軟弱了,克服不了他們怪異的性習慣。新約沒有提供這種借口。這只說明你還在犯罪,從此不要再犯罪了。但對于那些找借口說他們停不下來,因為他們是肉身的奴仆,我們可以說什麼呢?

雖然他們聲稱他們相信因信稱義,然而他們還在黑暗中行。因為他們即不信也沒有經歷耶穌是把他們從罪的奴役中救出來,如保羅說:“這樣,你們向罪也當看自己是死的﹔向神在基督耶穌堙A卻當看自己是活的。所以,不要容罪在你們必死的身上作王,使你們順從身子的私欲。也不要將你們的肢體獻給罪作不義的器具﹔倒要像從死奡_活的人,將自己獻給神,并將肢體作義的器具獻給神。罪必不能作你們的主,因你們不在律法之下,乃在恩典之下。這卻怎麼樣呢?我們在恩典之下,不在律法之下,就可以犯罪嗎?斷乎不可!”【羅馬書 6:11-15】

那些由神生的人因為重生的性質就戰勝罪。

“凡住在他堶悸煽N不犯罪。凡犯罪的是未曾看見他,也未曾認識他。小子們哪,不要被人誘惑。行義的才是義人,正如主是義的一樣。犯罪的是屬魔鬼,因為魔鬼從起初就犯罪。神的兒子顯現出來,為要除滅魔鬼的作為。凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:6-9】

聖經指出,一個人得救的確定性取決于他的行為在多大程度上像神的兒女。

“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】

因此,“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】

非基督徒受罪的奴役。罪是他們的居所的主。但當一個人信基督是主時,他就從罪的奴役之下解救出來,因為基督成了他的居所的主。然而,罪仍然感染他的居所,因此在那媔i行著一場爭戰。但基督徒沒有借口要臣服于他的罪性。那個性質不再是基督徒的主。

因此不要讓罪欺哄你,讓你以為它仍然在管事。要用信戰勝罪。“因為凡從神生的就勝過世界﹔使我們勝了世界的就是我們的信心。勝過世界的是誰呢?不是那信耶穌是神兒子的嗎?”【約翰一書 5:4-5】

如果你信耶穌是神的兒子,你就有能力戰勝罪。如果你不信這一點,那麼你就不是信徒。

脫離的途徑

“你們所遇見的試探,無非是人所能受的。神是信實的,必不叫你們受試探過于所能受的。在受試探的時候,總要給你們開一條出路,叫你們能忍受得住。”【哥林多前書 10:13】

很多基督徒也許會抱怨說他們還沒有發現脫離性誘惑的途徑,其實很容易就可以勝過性誘惑。

  1. 不找借口──停止相信你是與性有關的罪的奴仆。
  2. 不要癡迷與性有關的罪。我記得有個我在訓練的人癡迷于與性有關的罪。要知道,說這些事其實于事無補。只要別再做就行了。記得神探可倫坡埵酗@集,為了調查一庄謀殺案,他去了一個群體心理醫療所,在那堹f人們一組一組地談論他們的性問題。可倫坡認為他們想靠這樣討論來解決他們的這些問題真是瘋了。不要過度分析性的問題。只要別再犯罪就行了
  3. 但要把他當作一個重點。如果神對你的生活的旨意是性的純潔,那麼把它當作你成為聖潔的一個尺度。是的,成為聖潔還有其它的方面,但如果你參與奸淫,那麼那些方面又有多大關系呢?聖經把性的純潔看得很重要,并強烈地遣責奸淫。
  4. 避免與異性的不必要接觸。這有點“還需多說嗎?”如果一個人有酗酒的問題,那麼如果他老往酒吧跑就于事無補。男人不要單獨訓練女子。可以由年長的女子去訓練年青的女子。至于約會,不要做任何你將來不方便告訴你妻子的事,盡管她也許就是你現在約會的那位女子。不要做任何你以後會後悔的事。性是專為婚姻設立的。
  5. 最重要的,我要說,脫離性誘惑的主要途徑就是分散注意力。也就是說,把心思從情欲的事上挪開,放在有益的和造就人的事上。聖經指示我們說:“弟兄們,我還有未盡的話。凡是真實的,可敬的,公義的,清潔的,可愛的,有美名的﹔若有什麼德行,若有什麼稱贊,這些事你們都要思念。”【腓立比書 4:8】

情欲主要是心思堛滌囿均C如果你感到情欲的想法出現了,就想想其它的事。顯然,我指的是其它既不是罪性的也不與性或女人有關的事。事實上,為什麼不事先計劃好其它要思考的事──一個分心的事──并定意一旦遇上誘惑,你就把心思轉移到那個思考或問題或默想上去。一件與性無關,但你感興趣的事。你可以想想體育,或神學問題,數學,科學,或工作中的問題,家堛滌暋D,或哪怕一件什麼東西。可以思考的事很多。一件東西是最容易的。只要看一件與性無關的東西,思考這件東西,分析它,在頭腦堨峊戍@一些設計,通常足以使人把心思從性誘惑上挪開。

如果那還不足以分散你的注意力,那麼你需要調動其它感觀,當然它們必須是與性無關的。觸摸,或聽,或聞──這些都是可以直接調動的,能夠進一步分散你的注意力。重要的是要警覺,果斷地對誘惑采取措施。神自己也會分散你的注意力,雖然那也許是以痛苦的方式。甚至保羅都經歷了那種痛苦。 “又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。”【哥林多後書 12:7】疼痛對分散注意力很有效,但常常被現在很普遍的追求享樂的基督教教派所貶低。事實上如果你發現你沒有自制力來把你的心思從誘惑上挪開,也許你應該禱告,求神給你某種痛苦。這也是在苦中喜樂的另一個原因。 “基督既在肉身受苦,你們也當將這樣的心志作為兵器,因為在肉身受過苦的,就已經與罪斷絕了。”【彼得前書 4:1】事實上你應該學會恨惡你先前的情欲。教你的心去蔑視以前曾經奴役你的那些感覺。神說罪在他眼堿O可憎的和不幹淨的。我們也應該這樣。

敬畏神的作用

在新約之下,使我們勝過罪是神給那些因敬畏神而由神生的人提供的諸多恩賜之一。

“又要與他們立永遠的約,必隨著他們施恩,并不離開他們,且使他們有敬畏我的心,不離開我。”【耶利米書 32:40】

雖然無法的自由恩典神學承認在這個以及類似應許堜狻T有的永恆的保証,我也承認這一點,然而自由恩典神學已經蛻變為基督徒成為聖潔的敵人,因為這個神學試圖去掉基督徒中對神的真心的敬畏。自由恩典神學拒絕新約堛熔臚G部分所倡導的概念,就如在這堜猁竁F的:“我要將我的律法放在他們堶情A寫在他們心上。”【耶利米書 31:33b】然而這是重生的性質。與自由恩典神學相反,聖經是如此描述聖經堜畛羲漁成慦滿G“因為神救眾人的恩典已經顯明出來,教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,”【提多書 2:11-12】

聖徒的堅忍不拔與永恆的保証是不同的概念,雖然兩者都是真理。對于在新約下屬神的人來說,“一朝得救,永遠得救”,并且,“一旦得救,這種人就不可避免地會把這個信持守到底,其生活方式也將與那個信相一致,這是因為重生的性質。”

但即然羊的行為自然會像羊那樣,為什麼還要有命令呢?因為重生的性質是由命令激活的。也就是說,順服和敬畏神是自然的,但如果沒有命令,就無所謂順服,也無從經歷敬畏神的大能,如果教他們說不要在乎將來的審判。因為即使對被贖的人來說,“因為我們眾人必要在基督台前顯露出來,叫各人按著本身所行的,或善或惡受報。”【哥林多後書 5:10】

因此,“我們也不要行奸淫,像他們有人行的,一天就倒斃了二萬三千人。”【哥林多前書 10:8】因為奸淫就像瘟役一樣在基督徒中流行。

同性戀

有好幾節經文說到同性戀。事實上羅馬書第一章甚至同時說到女人與女人的同性戀和男人與男人的同性戀。

“因此,神任憑他們放縱可羞恥的情欲。他們的女人把順性的用處變為逆性的用處﹔男人也是如此,棄了女人順性的用處,欲火攻心,彼此貪戀,男和男行可羞恥的事,就在自己身上受這妄為當得的報應。”【羅馬書 1:26-27】
“同性戀基督徒”是一個矛盾詞。以賽亞對拜偶像者的描繪也適用于同性戀的人:“他們不知道,也不思想﹔因為耶和華閉住他們的眼不能看見,塞住他們的心不能明白。”【以賽亞書 44:18】他們不按聖經的本意讀聖經。他們把聖經婸’P性戀的段落解釋為只是在說某種特殊形態的同性戀,而不是在說他們。比如,他們說羅馬書堛熙o一段只適用于那些不是“順性”的同性戀,就是那些生來是異性戀而後來變成同性戀的。但他們聲稱他們自己是天生的“順性”的同性戀,因此這一段不適用于他們。當然其他我們這些基督徒可以看到他們的思念變為虛妄,就如保羅在這一章稍早一點的地方說的那樣。他們還說所多瑪和蛾摩拉的罪只是他們不善待客人,但聖經說:“又如所多瑪、蛾摩拉,和周圍城邑的人,也照他們一味地行淫,隨從逆性的情欲,就受永火的刑罰,作為鑒戒。” 【猶大書 1:7】

但于其辯論這些經節,讓我們考慮一些更基本的的問題,它們從邏輯排除了同性戀是正當的基督徒生活方式:

  1. 聖經表明基督徒不應該在婚姻之外參與任何性行為。
  2. 聖經表明婚姻是一個男人和一個女人之間的事。

第一個不但適用于同性戀,也適用于所有形式的奸淫。考慮第二點,關于婚姻耶穌說:“那起初造人的,是造男造女,并且說:‘因此,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。’這經你們沒有念過嗎?”【馬太福音 19:4b-5】事實上所有關于婚姻的經文表明婚姻是一個丈夫和一個妻子之間的事(不是兩個丈夫或兩個妻子),而且丈夫是男人,妻子是女人。

關于“同性戀基督徒”和其他這類提倡奸淫的基督徒可以這麼說:“因為有些人偷著進來,就是自古被定受刑罰的,是不虔誠的,將我們神的恩變作放縱情欲的機會,并且不認獨一的主宰,我們(“我們”或作“和我們”)主耶穌基督。”【猶大書 1:4】就像保羅說的那樣:“他們說是認識神,行事卻和他相背。本是可憎惡的,是悖逆的,在各樣善事上是可廢棄的。”【提多書 1:16】

對待行淫的基督徒

“但如今我寫信給你們說:若有稱為弟兄是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的,這樣的人不可與他相交,就是與他吃飯都不可。”【哥林多前書 5:11】

因此,不要與自稱為“基督徒”卻行淫的人相交。他們要麼改變他們的行為,要麼別稱他們自己是“基督徒”,否則,聖經明白地要求我們不能與他們相交。至于那些有戀童癖或其他那類的人,他們使年青的基督徒走上奸淫的道路,耶穌說:“凡使這信我的一個小子跌倒的,倒不如把大磨石拴在這人的頸項上,沉在深海堙C”【馬太福音 18:6】


2020年09月29日

Sex and Sanctification

Recently visiting a Christian men's breakfast associated with an evangelical church in the Boston area, the subject came up concerning materials appropriate for young people to read. One man advocated giving pornographic literature to teenagers (that is, sexual stories as opposed to pictures) to motivate them to read. He argued that getting young people to read is a higher priority than sexual purity as they are just going to have sex anyhow and nothing can be done about that.  Another experience I've had recently is that in looking for tenants, a large minority of such single men who openly called themselves "Christian" also openly call themselves "homosexual" or "bisexual". Increasingly throughout this country there is little difference in the attitudes and behaviors between "Christians" and non-Christians concerning sexual activity.

Sexual Purity is God's Explicit Will

The Bible advocates that sexual purity is one of the most important areas of application in the Christian life. Would you like to know God's will for your life? Of the few places in the New Testament which explicitly state what God's will there is this passage:
"It is God’s will that you should be sanctified: that you should avoid sexual immorality; that each of you should learn to control his own body in a way that is holy and honorable, not in passionate lust like the heathen, who do not know God;  and that in this matter no one should wrong his brother or take advantage of him. The Lord will punish men for all such sins, as we have already told you and warned you. For God did not call us to be impure, but to live a holy life. Therefore, he who rejects this instruction does not reject man but God, who gives you his Holy Spirit." 1Thess 4:3-8

Many Christians are Deceived on this issue

If you are rejecting this instruction, you are rejecting God. Sexual purity in the Christian life is not optional. The sexually immoral will not inherit the kingdom of God. Many Christians have been deceived on this issue.
"Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10
Christians are not to be involved in sexual activity outside the confines of a marriage relationship. God has designed sexual activity to be limited to the marriage relationship.

If you are an adulterer, fornicator, masturbator, homosexual, or the like then you are not living the Christian life. You are failing in a significant way to follow the will of God. Take this seriously and deal with it.

The Deception of Slavery to Sin

Many deceived by Free Grace Theology not only have the viewpoint that there is not necessarily any correlation between a person's behavior and their salvation status, but also that Christians are slaves to sin and thus are excusable, whereas in fact Christians are no longer slaves to sin and there is no excuse to continue to sin. Consider even Jesus admonition to the adulterous woman of John 8. He told her, "Go now and leave your life of sin." He made no allowances for excuses. So also with the cripple of John 5, "See, you are well again. Stop sinning or something worse may happen to you." These can be taken as exhortations to Christians as well. It's your choice. You are free to chose to stop sinning.

Habit or Choice makes no difference

None of the passages condeming the sexually immoral make any distinction between those who feel reluctantly enslaved to sexual immorality versus those who intentionally accept it as a lifestyle choice.Habit or Choice makes no difference

Sexual Visualization

Men are particularly prone to fall into sexual immorality through sexual visualization. This may be either physical or mental visualization.
"But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart."Matt 5:28
And consider what Jesus said right after that in verse 29 to indicate just how serious such a sin is,
"If your right eye causes you to sin, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell." Matt 5:29
This stuff is what Jesus says will get you thrown into hell, and as 1Cor 6:9,10 indicates Christians are deceived if they think then can live a sexually immoral life free from the fear of going to hell. (See also the deception of Free Grace Theology)

Job was aware of such temptation and came up with this application, "I made a covenant with my eyes not to look lustfully at a girl." Job 31:1

Make no provision for the flesh

"put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts." Rom 13:14
Have you made provisions for your flesh to fulfill your lusts, such as a stash of pornography? Or are you dating and making provisions for privacy in hopes that sexual activity may take place? Are you buying condoms just in case sexual activity occurs. Or perhaps you're a masturbator and have provided sex toys for your flesh. Get rid of all that stuff. Plan on having no sexual activity at all outside the context of marriage. Make no provision for your flesh, no provision for any such sexual activities.

Conquering Sexual Immorality

The Bible commands "Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry." Col 3:5  It says, "Among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people." Ephesians 5:3 And it says simply "Flee from sexual immorality." 1 Corinthians 6:18

While many Christian men recognize these facts and express the desire to be sexually pure, yet many excuse their sexually immoral behavior on the basis that they are too weak to overcome their sexually deviant habits. The New Testament makes no provision for such an excuse. It simply indicates that if you are sinning, then stop sinning. But of those who excuse themselves saying that they cannot stop sinning because they are slaves to their flesh, then what can we say?

While they may claim to believe in justification by faith, yet they walk in darkness. For they neither believe nor experience Jesus as Savior from their enslavement to sin as Paul indicates in Romans 6:11-15"Likewise you also, reckon yourselves to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body, that you should obey it in its lusts.  And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God. For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace. What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? Certainly not!"

Those who have been born of God overcome sin due to the nature of regeneration.

"No one who lives in him keeps on sinning. No one who continues to sin has either seen him or known him. Dear children, do not let anyone lead you astray. He who does what is right is righteous, just as he is righteous. He who does what is sinful is of the devil, because the devil has been sinning from the beginning. The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the devil’s work.  No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:6-9
The Bible indicates that one's assurance of salvation should be dependent upon the degree to which one behaves as a child of God.
"This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10
So "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you— unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5

Non-Christians are enslaved to sin. Sin is the master of their house. But when one puts his faith in Christ as Lord he is saved from the mastery of sin because Christ becomes Lord of his house. Yes, sin still infests his house and thus there is is a battle going on. But the Christian has no excuse for submitting himself to obey his sinful nature. That nature has lost its mastery over the Christian.

So don't let sin deceive you into believing that it is still in charge. By faith overcome sin. "For whatever is born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world——our faith.  Who is he who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?" 1John 5:4,5

If you believe that Jesus is the Son of God, then you have the power to overcome sin. If you don't believe that, then you're not a believer.

The Way of Escape

"No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it." 1Cor 10:13
Many Christian men may complain that they have yet to discover the way of escape with respect to sexual temptation, yet overcoming sexual temptation can be quite easy.
1. No excuses - stop believing that you're a slave to sexual sin.

2. Don't obsess over sexual sin. I remember a guy I was discipling who once came to me obsessing over his enslavement to sexual sin. You know, it really doesn't help to talk about it. Just stop sinning. I remember also see a Columbo episode in which, in investigating a murder, he did went to a group therapy clinic in which patients would talk about their sexual problems in a group setting. He thought they were pretty much nuts to try to solve such problems through discussion. Don't over analyze sexual problems. Just stop sinning.

3. But Make it a priority. If God's will for your life is sexual purity then make it a measure of your sanctification. Yes there are other aspects of sanctification, but if you're involved in sexual immorality then how much do they really matter. The Bible puts a high priority on sexual purity and strongly condemns sexual immorality.

4. Avoid unnecessary contact with women. This is somewhat of a "Well Duh!?" If a person has a drinking problem, it doesn't help if he regularly goes to bars. Don't disciple women on an individual basis. Older women can disciple the younger women. As for dating, don't do anything that you wouldn't feel free to tell your future wife, even if she may not turn out to be the one you're dating. Do nothing which you may later regret. Sex is reserved for marriage.

5. Most significant of all, and I would say the primary way of escape from sexual temptation is simply DISTRACTION. That is, to set one's heart and mind away from the the object of lust to something which is good and edifying. The Bible instructs us, "whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable— if anything is excellent or praiseworthy— think about such things." Php 4:8

Lust is primarily a battle for the mind. If you feel a lustful thought coming on, then simply think about something else. Obviously I'm referring to something else which is neither sinful nor related to sex or women. In fact why not plan beforehand to have something else to think about - a distracting thought - and agree that if temptation comes that you will distract your mind with that thought or question or area of meditation. What is it unrelated to sex which interests you. You might think of some sport, or issue of theology, math, science, or issue at work or at home, or even simply an object. There's lots of things to think about. An object is the easiest thing. Just physically looking at some non-sexual object and thinking about it, analyzing it, engineering it in your mind is usually more than sufficient to distract one from sexual temptation.

If that is not enough distraction then you need to involved other senses, but again they must be non-sexual in nature. Touching a physical object or listening or even smell - these are all immediately available and can provide further distraction. It's important to be alert and react immediately to temptations. God may also provide his own distraction for you, though it may be in the form of pain. Even Paul experienced that, "To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me." 2Cor 12:7 Pain is a great distraction, but it's often devalued in hedonistic sects of Christianity so common today. In fact if you find you don't have the self-control to distract your thoughts then maybe you should pray that God will grace you with some chronic pain. This is also another reason to rejoice in suffering, "for he who has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin." 1Peter 4:1 In fact you should learn to hate your former lusts. Teach your heart to reckon contemptously those feelings which formerly enslaved you. God speaks of sin as being abominable and unclean in his sight. So should we.

The Power of the Fear of God

Under the New Covenant one of the provisions God has made for us to overcome sin is imparting to those born of God a fear of God.
"And I will make an everlasting covenant with them, that I will not turn away from doing them good; but I will put My fear in their hearts so that they will not depart from Me." Jer 32:40
While Antinomian Free Grace Theology does affirm the eternal security inherent in this and similar promises as I also affirm, that theology has become an enemy of Sanctification in its attempt to eliminate a genuine fear of God in the Christian community. It rejects the concept advocated in the second part of the New Covenant, as is also expressed in Jer 31:33 "I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts." Yet this is the nature of regeneration. In contrast to Free Grace Theology, it is written of Biblical grace that "the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. It teaches us to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age." 1Tim 2:11,12
The Perseverance of the Saints is not the same as the concept of Eternal Security, though both are true. Of those born of God under the New Covenant it can both be said, "Once saved, always saved" AND ALSO "Once saved it is inevitable that such people will persevere in a faith and a lifestyle consistent with that faith to the end, due to the nature of regeneration."
But if it's natural for sheep to behave as sheep, then why have commands? Because that regenerate nature is activated by commands.That is, it is naturally submissive and fears God's judgment, but if it's not given commands then there is nothing to be submissive to, nor does it experience the power of the fear of God if it is taught to ignore the coming judgment. For even as the redeemed, "we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad." 2 Cor 5:10

Therefore "let us not commit sexual immorality, as some of (the Israelites) did, and in one day twenty-three thousand fell." 1Cor 10:8 For sexual immorality has spread like a plague in the Christian community.

Homosexuality

There are a number of verses that deal with homosexuality. In fact Romans 1 even deals with lesbians along with male homosexuals.
"For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature.  Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due." Rom 1:26,27
"Homosexual Christianity" is an oxymoron. As Isaiah says of idolators so also with homosexuals, "They know nothing, they understand nothing; their eyes are plastered over so they cannot see, and their minds closed so they cannot understand." Is 44:18 They don't read the Bible in the sense in which it was written.  They interpret passages on homosexuality as only speaking to particular types of homosexuality, which they claim don't apply to them. For example in this passage in Romans they will say that this only applies to those who are not "naturally" homosexuals, but rather who start off heterosexual and later turn into homosexual. But they themselves claim to be "natural" homosexuals and so they claim the passage doesn't apply to them. Of course many of the rest of us Christians can see in them the very corruption of their thinking which Paul speaks of earlier in that same chapter. So also they claim that the sin of Sodom and Gomorrah was simply inhospitality, but the Bible says, "In a similar way, Sodom and Gomorrah and the surrounding towns gave themselves up to sexual immorality and perversion. They serve as an example of those who suffer the punishment of eternal fire." Jude 1:7

But rather than argue further over such passages let's consider something even more basic which logically eliminates homosexuality as a valid Christian lifestyle, namely

1. The Bible indicates that Christians should not even be engaged in any sexual activity outside of marriage.

2. The Bible indicates that marriage is between a man and a woman.

The first applies not only to homosexuals, but to all the sexually immoral.
Concerning the second point, Jesus says concerning marriage, "Haven’t you read that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’?" Matt 19:4,5 In fact all the verses dealing with marriage indicate that it is between a husband and wife (not between two husbands or two wives) and that the husband is male and the wife female.
But of the "homosexual Christians" and others such Christians who advocate immorality it could be said that "certain men whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord."Jude 1:4 That is, as Paul says, "They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing anything good." Titus 1:16

Dealing with Immoral Christians

"I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat. What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. 'Expel the wicked man from among you.'" 1 Corinthians 5:11
Therefore don't associate with sexual deviants who call themselves "Christian". They need to either change their behavior or stop calling themselves "Christians", else the Biblical mandate compels the rest of us to disassociate with them. And as for dealing with pedophiles or other such people who lead young Christians down the path of sexual immorality Jesus says, "But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea." Matt 18:6

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015