翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第三章

一個對屬靈領袖智慧的看法

他們是什麼?

3:1 弟兄們,我從前對你們說話,
  不能把你們當作屬靈的,
  只得把你們當作屬肉體,
    在基督堿偯托蘆滿C

3:2 我是用奶喂你們,沒有用飯喂你們。
  那時你們不能吃,就是如今還是不能。

3:3 你們仍是屬肉體的,
  因為在你們中間有嫉妒、分爭,
  這豈不是屬乎肉體、照著世人的樣子行嗎?

3:4 有說:“我是屬保羅的。”
  有說:“我是屬亞波羅的。”
    這豈不是你們和世人一樣嗎?

3:5 亞波羅算什麼?
  保羅算什麼?
  無非是執事,照主所賜給他們各人的,引導你們相信。

他們的目的是什麼?

3:6 我栽種了,
  亞波羅澆灌了﹔
  惟有神叫他生長。

3:7 可見栽種的算不得什麼,
  澆灌的也算不得什麼﹔
  只在那叫他生長的神。

3:8 栽種的和澆灌的都是一樣,
  但將來各人要照自己的工夫得自己的賞賜。

3:9 因為我們是與神同工的﹔
  你們是神所耕種的田地,所建造的房屋

3:10 我照神所給我的恩,
  好像一個聰明的工頭立好了根基,
  有別人在上面建造。
  只是各人要謹慎怎樣在上面建造。

3:11 因為那已經立好的根基就是耶穌基督,
  此外沒有人能立別的根基。

3:12 若有人用金、銀、寶石、草、木、禾秸在這根基上建造
3:13 各人的工程必然顯露,
  因為那日子要將它表明出來。
  有火發現,這火要試驗各人的工程怎樣。

3:14 人在那根基上所建造的工程若存得住,他就要得賞賜。
3:15 人的工程若被燒了,
   他就要受虧損﹔
  自己卻要得救,
   雖然得救乃像從火婺g過的一樣。

3:16 豈不知你們是神的殿
  神的靈住在你們媕Y嗎?

3:17 若有人毀壞神的殿,神必要毀壞那人﹔
  因為神的殿是聖的,這殿就是你們。

應用:不要拿他們夸口!

3:18 人不可自欺。
  你們中間若有人在這世界自以為有智慧,
   倒不如變作愚拙,
   好成為有智慧的。

3:19 因這世界的智慧在神看是愚拙。
  如經上記著說:
  “主叫有智慧的中了自己的詭計。”
【約伯記 5:13】
3:20 又說:
  “主知道智慧人的意念是虛妄的。”
【詩篇 94:11】
3:21 所以,
  無論誰都不可拿人夸口!
  因為萬有全是你們的,

3:22 或保羅,或亞波羅,或磯法,
  或世界,或生,或死,
  或現今的事,或將來的事,
    全是你們的。

3:23 并且你們是屬基督的,
  基督又是屬神的。


問題討論

第1-5節 保羅是如何看出哥林多的基督徒在靈媮暀ㄕ釆籅滿H
與此相反,你認為他是從哪些品質看出在靈堛漲釆籅滿H
對屬靈領袖的尊敬是如何蛻變成分爭的?
你有沒有感覺到主已經分派你作某件事?
第6-11節 保羅的作用與亞波羅的作用有什麼不同?
基督徒事奉的根基是什麼?
第12-17節 金、銀、寶石的例子有哪些?草、木、禾秸的例子有哪些?
這個試驗與天堂和地獄的審判有什麼不同?
即使基督徒的工程被燒,失去可能得到的賞賜,他會失去他的救贖嗎?
第18-23節 基督徒應如何“變作愚拙”,以成為有智慧的?
有什麼例子說明這世界的智慧從聖經的出發點看最終是愚拙的和虛妄的?


注釋

在基督堿偯托蘆

哥林多前書 3:1-3 弟兄們,我從前對你們說話,不能把你們當作屬靈的,只得把你們當作屬肉體,在基督堿偯托蘆滿C我是用奶喂你們,沒有用飯喂你們。那時你們不能吃,就是如今還是不能。你們仍是屬肉體的,因為在你們中間有嫉妒、分爭,這豈不是屬乎肉體、照著世人的樣子行嗎?

在這堙A保羅說這些哥林多的基督徒是“屬肉體的”,不屬靈的,但稱這種狀態為“在基督堿偯托蘆滿芋A所以,不一定否認他們的得救狀態。耶穌在麥子與稗子的寓言婸”嚆囓H區別那些在信堣ㄕ釆籅獄P魔鬼之子。的確,對很多人來說,很難說得救是哪一時刻發生的。但從同一寓言還可看出,那些在這個信中的人會逐漸在信中成熟,以至不可避免地從他們屬靈的生活方式顯現出來。所以彼得勸勉說要通過正確地把你的信付之于應用(【彼得後書 1:5-9】):“使你們所蒙的恩召和揀選堅定不移。”【彼得後書 1:10】

希伯來書的作者說:“論到麥基洗德,我們有好些話,并且難以解明,因為你們聽不進去。看你們學習的工夫,本該作師傅,誰知還得有人將神聖言小學的開端,另教導你們。并且成了那必須吃奶,不能吃干糧的人。凡只能吃奶的,都不熟練仁義的道理。因為他是嬰孩。惟獨長大成人的,才能吃干糧,他們的心竅,習練得通達,就能分辨好歹了。”【希伯來書 5:11-14】

哥林多的聖徒,像許多聖徒一樣,處在一個必須繼續成長的狀態。他們之間的不合和互相忌妒說明他們還嚴重地缺乏基督的心。他們的行為還仿佛他們仍是屬世的。我們無法肯定那是不是只是行為而以。現在反觀一下自己。基于你的態度和行為,你在何種程度上在基督埵釆穭F呢?


你是屬誰的?

哥林多前書 3:4-5 有說:“我是屬保羅的。”有說:“我是屬亞波羅的。”這豈不是你們和世人一樣嗎?亞波羅算什麼?保羅算什麼?無非是執事,照主所賜給他們各人的,引導你們相信。

不成熟的人和不屬靈的人喜歡把他們自己或他們所在的群體的看得更為優越。這是人的本性。甚至在沒有合法的根據時,有些教會也會把自己看得高于別的教會。而如我們在這堿搢鴘滿A甚至同一教會堛滌繴徒都會這樣。保羅和亞波羅不是分開的。他們是合法的基督徒領袖。但不成熟的人會因為他們自己的虛妄原故,對其中的某一個表示效忠以至在基督徒弟兄間產生分爭。在基督教的歷史上,有無數這樣的例子,不但是因為對合法的基督教領袖和觀點的效忠,還因為對提倡不合聖經的神學觀點的神學家效忠。而作領袖的也因參于這樣的事而表現出他們的不成熟。

後來,這種效忠逐漸演變成偶像崇拜。比如,天主教甚至把“聖徒”作為一個特殊種類的基督徒。正教會則把他們聖經之後的七次公會決議作為他們的標准。在新教堙A盡管他們聲稱“唯聖經”,但在他們對聖經的注釋堳o把開爾文、奧古斯丁、路德等抬得很高。而且在新教埵陶\許多多的教派。基督教的歷史中充滿了不成熟,沒有聖靈,屬世的基督徒,他們甚至處在很高的地位上。

你如何標識你自己呢?你是屬開爾文教派的嗎?屬路德教派的嗎?浸信會的嗎?屬衛理公會的嗎?屬或諸如此類的嗎?還是你是基督徒?你是不是把聖經之後的某個神學家當作無可辯駁的,無需審查呢?你引用誰的話來表達你的信呢?你借著誰的話來証明你所的信呢?


分工

哥林多前書 3:6-7 我栽種了,亞波羅澆灌了﹔惟有神叫他生長。可見栽種的算不得什麼,澆灌的也算不得什麼﹔只在那叫他生長的神。

合作與竟爭

一個企業的模型也許能說明這一點。哥林多的基督徒就好像許多互相竟爭的公司,而保羅和亞波羅則好像同一公司的雇員,他們雖然在做不同的工作,但互相合作以達到共同的目標。

事奉的多樣化

在基督堛漲X一并不意味著千人一面。如果基督的目的需要不同的分工,所以如果要求所有的基督徒都做同樣的工作,或限制他們工作的多樣化則是與基督的目的相悖的,因而其本身是分爭性的。你對那些參與和你不同的事奉的基督徒的態度是什麼呢?

謙卑的態度

分爭的根源就是驕傲。保羅在這婸”嚌儘鶠C這種態度不但能夠幫助我們與其它的同工合作,還有助于我們與神合作,把榮耀歸與神。你把你勞苦所結的果子歸與誰呢?


合一的目的與對每個人的評定

哥林多前書 3:8 栽種的和澆灌的都是一樣,但將來各人要照自己的工夫得自己的賞賜。

雖然事奉各有不同,能力各有不同,比如他將在第十二章堶n講的那樣,但我們作我們蒙召所作的工的目的必須是一致的。將來會有審判,他將在這一段媊~續說到這一點。耶穌也多次說到這一點,比如在他講的關于葡萄園堛熄惜u的寓言,和關于天資的寓言。保羅還寫到:“因為我們眾人必要在基督台前顯露出來,叫各人按著本身所行的,或善或惡受報。”【哥林多後書 5:10】受賞賜將是以個人為基礎的。所以,不要指望靠效忠某某人或只是出席到場而過那一關。主有沒有召你做什麼?你是如何履行你的職責的呢?


把事奉交給別人

哥林多前書 3:9-10 因為我們是與神同工的﹔你們是神所耕種的田地,所建造的房屋。我照神所給我的恩,好像一個聰明的工頭立好了根基,有別人在上面建造。只是各人要謹慎怎樣在上面建造。

保羅蒙召去立根基。“使徒”從字面上翻譯就是“被差遣的人”,比如去作差傳。保羅建立了教會,然後就到別處去,把教會交給稱職的人管理。這個把自己的事奉交出去的過程在教會領袖中往往很困難,也許是因為擁有的態度過強。但保羅不把他建立的教會看作是屬于他自己的,而是屬于神的。他們是神所耕種的田地,神所建造的房屋。

然而,雖然保羅把教會交給亞波羅管理,注意保羅還繼續給他們寫信。這是另一件不多見的事。如果一個教會的領袖離開教會到另一個教會去,通常你就再也聽不到他們了。但那樣做應該嗎?


基督是根基

哥林多前書 3:11 因為那已經立好的根基就是耶穌基督,此外沒有人能立別的根基。

教會的根基就是我們的主耶穌基督。保羅說:“我當日所領受又傳給你們的,第一,就是基督照聖經所說,為我們的罪死了。而且埋葬了。又照聖經所說,第三天復活了。”【哥林多前書 15:3-4】福音是圍繞著基督的──也就是說,基督作為主和救主──基督所作的工──他在十字架上的救贖工,他的神跡和復活──基督的教訓──這不但包括他在世上的事奉時所講的,還包括他通過他的使徒所講的,所以包括整個新約,經上還說:“并且被建造在使徒和先知的根基上,有基督耶穌自己為房角石。”【以弗所書 2:20】基督在舊約堻q過先知說話,然後又在新約堻q過他的使徒說話。

把基督作我們信的根基是通過做耶穌所說的顯示出來的。耶穌說:“惟有聽見不去行的,就像一個人在土地上蓋房子,沒有根基。”【路加福音 6:49a】


你所建造的經得起試驗嗎?

哥林多前書 3:12-13 若有人用金、銀、寶石、草木、禾秸在這根基上建造,各人的工程必然顯露,因為那日子要將它表明出來。有火發現,這火要試驗各人的工程怎樣。

雖然保羅在這堹S別指的是那些事奉的人,比如他自己和亞波羅,但所有的聖徒都被召以某種形式來事奉。“我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。”【以弗所書 2:10】我們行善就是在我們信心的基礎上用金、銀、寶石建造。但如果我們犯罪,我們就把草木、禾秸加在我們所建造的房屋──我們的生活,我們的工作──之中。在審判日上,我們所建造的房屋將受到火的試驗。所以要為此做好准備。


遭受損失或得到賞賜

哥林多前書 3:14-15 人在那根基上所建造的工程若存得住,他就要得賞賜。人的工程若被燒了,他就要受虧損﹔自己卻要得救,雖然得救乃像從火婺g過的一樣。

將從火婺g過的不是聖徒而是他們所建造的工程。保羅在這堜珒y寫的不是所謂煉獄的情形,他說的也不是得救的問題。聖徒所建造的被燒有兩層意思。個人的罪將被饒恕和忘記,如神所說:“我不再記念他們的罪愆和他們的過犯。”【希伯來書 10:17】我們所受的損失是我們的生活中犯了罪的那些部分,我們將在那些我們追求的虛妄的事上受到損失。我們還會因為有些人由于我們疏忽了在他們的生活中作神的工的原故而下了地獄而受到損失。在這個審判中你會損失些什麼呢?

那些留存下來的東西是我們與神合作建造起來的。這種合作將得到賞賜。其中包括那些我們曾經幫助過的人,如保羅所寫的那樣:“我們的盼望和喜樂,并所夸的冠冕,是什麼呢?豈不是我們主耶穌來的時候,你們在他面前站立得住嗎?”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:19】耶穌也說到很多能夠得到賞賜的工作,比如他說:“無論何人,因為門徒的名,只把一杯涼水給這小子堛漱@個喝,我實在告訴你們,這人不能不得賞賜。”【馬太福音 10:42】


你們是神的殿

哥林多前書 3:16-17 豈不知你們是神的殿,神的靈住在你們媕Y嗎?若有人毀壞神的殿,神必要毀壞那人﹔因為神的殿是聖的,這殿就是你們。

聖徒是神的殿,從集體和個人來說都是如此。他在這堳的是集體,因為他指著教會說:“你們是神所耕種的田地,所建造的房屋。”【哥林多前書 3:9】在第六章堙A他還說個人是神的殿。“若有人毀壞神的殿”指的是那些假教師,他們想把聖徒們毀壞。同樣,耶穌說:“凡使這信我的一個小子跌倒的,倒不如把大磨石拴在這人的頸項上,扔在海堙C”【馬可福音 9:42】


聰明的傻瓜

哥林多前書 3:18-20 人不可自欺。你們中間若有人在這世界自以為有智慧,倒不如變作愚拙,好成為有智慧的。因這世界的智慧在神看是愚拙。如經上記著說:“主叫有智慧的中了自己的詭計。”【約伯記 5:13】又說:“主知道智慧人的意念是虛妄的。”【詩篇 94:11】

一個在自己的眼堜峖b這個世界的眼埵陷撮z的人是不可教的。“你見自以為有智慧的人嗎?愚昧人比他更有指望。”【箴言 26:12】“不要自以為有智慧﹔要敬畏耶和華,遠離惡事。”【箴言 3:7】緊接著保羅在這堣犍峈【詩篇 94:11】,詩篇上說:“耶和華啊,你所管教,用律法所教訓的人,是有福的。”【詩篇 94:12】在哥林多前書堙A保羅用很大的篇幅來管教他們。在這堙A他特別說到他們中間那些按世人的標准自以為有智慧,并想取代保羅和亞波羅當教師的人。

人的本性有所謂“半瓶子醋”效應。英文塈滮j學二年級學生稱作“Sophomore”,這個詞來源于希臘文“σοφοζ”意為“智慧”,和“μωροζ”意為“愚拙”。一個半瓶子醋的人就好比一個聰明的傻瓜。他一知半解,但卻以為自己什麼都知道,足以為人之師了。但當你覺得已經達到不需要再學什麼的時候,你其實成了一個聰明的傻瓜。


名人

哥林多前書 3:21-23 所以,無論誰都不可拿人夸口!因為萬有全是你們的,或保羅,或亞波羅,或磯法,或世界,或生,或死,或現今的事,或將來的事,全是你們的。并且你們是屬基督的,基督又是屬神的。

世人拿名人夸口,但在聖徒間不應這樣。但在基督徒中,有些人被視作名人。要當心不要過分地看重這樣的人。同時要當心不要去追求名人的地位或社會地位,以及那些追求這些東西的人。“吃蜜過多是不好的,考究自己的榮耀也是可厭的。”【箴言 25:27】耶和華如此說:“智慧人不要因他的智慧夸口,勇士不要因他的勇力夸口,財主不要因他的財物夸口。 Jer 9:24 夸口的卻因他有聰明,認識我是耶和華,又知道我喜悅在世上施行慈愛、公平和公義,以此夸口。”這是耶和華說的。【耶利米書 9:23-24】

當說起基督教時,你是不是常常說到你的牧師,或某個著名的基督徒或基督以外的某個人?如果是這樣的話,你應該查驗一下自己是在拿誰夸口。牧師或神學家都只是資源,有些比別人好一些。但拿人夸口的根本原因是希望通過自己的效忠來找到自己的價值。保羅針對這樣的動搖提醒聖徒們他們將承受一切。他還說:“因為我深信無論是死,是生,是天使,是掌權的,是有能的,是現在的事,是將來的事,是高處的,是低處的,是別的受造之物,都不能叫我們與神的愛隔絕﹔這愛是在我們的主基督耶穌堛滿C”【羅馬書 8:38-39】

把你的價值和依靠放在基督堙A而不要靠人或人的機構。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 3 (web)

A Wise Perspective on Spiritual Leaders

What are they?

3:1 Brothers, I couldn't speak to you as to spiritual, but as to fleshly, as to babies in Christ.
3:2 I fed you with milk, not with meat; for you weren't yet ready.
Indeed, not even now are you ready,
3:3 for you are still fleshly.
For insofar as there is jealousy, strife, and factions among you,
aren't you fleshly, and don't you walk in the ways of men?
3:4 For when one says, "I follow Paul,"
and another, "I follow Apollos," aren't you fleshly?

3:5 Who then is Apollos, and who is Paul,
but servants through whom you believed;
and each as the Lord gave to him?

What is their purpose?

3:6 I planted. Apollos watered. But God gave the increase.
3:7 So then neither he who plants is anything, nor he who waters,
but God who gives the increase.
3:8 Now he who plants and he who waters are the same,
but each will receive his own reward according to his own labor.
3:9 For we are God's fellow workers.
You are God's farming, God's building.
3:10 According to the grace of God which was given to me,
as a wise master builder I laid a foundation, and another builds on it.
But let each man be careful how he builds on it.
3:11 For no one can lay any other foundation than that which has been laid,
which is Jesus Christ.
3:12 But if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay, or stubble;
3:13 each man's work will be revealed.
For the Day will declare it, because it is revealed in fire;
and the fire itself will test what sort of work each man's work is.

3:14 If any man's work remains which he built on it, he will receive a reward.
3:15 If any man's work is burned, he will suffer loss,
but he himself will be saved, but as through fire.

3:16 Don't you know that you are a temple of God, and that God's Spirit lives in you?
3:17 If anyone destroys the temple of God, God will destroy him;

for God's temple is holy, which you are.

Application: Do not boast about them!

3:18 Let no one deceive himself. If anyone thinks that he is wise among you in this world,
let him become a fool, that he may become wise.
3:19 For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God.
For it is written, "He has taken the wise in their craftiness."(Job 5:13)
3:20 And again, "The Lord knows the reasoning of the wise,
that it is worthless." (Ps 94:11)
3:21 Therefore let no one boast in men. For all things are yours,
3:22 whether Paul, or Apollos, or Cephas, or the world, or life, or death,
or things present, or things to come. All are yours,
3:23 and you are Christ's, and Christ is God's.

Discussion Questions

vs 1-5 How did Paul identify the Corinthians as being spiritually immature?
In contrast, what characteristics do you suppose he would look for to identify spiritual maturity?
How can respect for spiritual leaders become corrupted into divisiveness?
Do you sense that the Lord has assigned you to a particular task?
vs 6-11 What was the difference in the roles played by Paul and Apollos?
What should be the basic foundation of all Christian ministries?
vs 12-17 What are examples of gold, silver and precious stones? Wood, hay, and straw?
How does the judgment here different from the heaven & hell judgment?
Even if the Christian's works are burned up, losing potential rewards, will he lose his salvation?
vs 18-23 In what way should a Christian "become a fool" so that he may become wise?
What are examples of the world's wisdom being ultimately foolish and futile from a Biblical perspective?


Comments


Babes in Christ

1Cor 3:1-3  Brothers, I could not address you as spiritual but as worldlyó mere infants in Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere men?

Here Paul speaks of these Corinthians as "worldly", unspiritual, yet equating such a state with "babes in Christ", thus not necessarily denying their salvation status. In his parable of the wheat and tares (Mat 13:24-30), Jesus speaks of those immature in the faith as relatively indistinguishable from children of the devil. And indeed for many it's difficult to say at what point salvation actually occurs. But from that same parable it is also a truism that those who are in the faith will inevitably reveal themselves to be so by their progressive maturing in the faith into a spiritual lifestyle. Thus Peter exhorts to "to make your calling and election sure" (2Peter 1:10) by appropriately applying your faith (2Peter 1:5-9)

The writer of Hebrews says, "We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn. In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of Godís word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil." Heb 4:11-14
The Corinthians, like many saints, were in a state that they needed to grow out of. Their disunity and jealousy showed they significantly lacked having the mind of Christ. They were acting as if they were still of the world. And one could not be completely certain that it was not more than just an act.

Now consider yourself. Based on your attitudes and behavior to what degree would you categorize yourself as mature in Christ?


Whom do you follow?

1Cor 3:4,5 For when one says, "I follow Paul," and another, "I follow Apollos," are you not mere men? What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believeó as the Lord has assigned to each his task.

The immature and unspiritual seek to inflate their view of themselves or of their group over that of others. That's human nature. Even when there is no legitimate basis for doing so, one church may reckon itself superior to others. And as we see in this case, even groups of Christians in the same church will do so. Paul and Apollos were not divided. And they were legitimate Christians leaders. But the immature would pledge allegiance to one over another so as to divide the Christian community for their own vanity's sake. There are countless examples of this in the history of Christianity, not only concerning divisive allegiances to legitimate Christian leadership and ideas, but also allegiances to theologians advocating unBiblical theologies. Leadership itself shows its spiritual immaturity by playing to this sentiment.

In later years the "veneration" of the saints turned into idolatry. And Catholicism even made "saints" as a special category of Christians. The Orthodox invoke their post-Biblical Seven Ecumenical Councils as their standard. In Protestantism, though they claimed "Sola Scriptura" (the scriptures alone), yet their commentaries make much of John Calvin, Augustine, Luther, and the like. And there is a great amount of denominationalism among Protestants. The history of Christianity has been dominated by immature, unspiritual, worldy Christians, even to its highest levels.

How do you identify yourself? Are you a Calvinist, Lutheran, Baptist, Methodist, or the like, or are you a Christian? Is there some post-Biblical theologian that you reckon infallible, above scrutiny? Whom do you quote to express your beliefs? Whom do you invoke to validate your beliefs?



A Division of Labor

1Cor 3:6,7  I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow.

Cooperation versus Competition

A business model may help to clarify this point.  The Corinthians were behaving like companies which compete against one another, whereas Paul and Apollos were behaving as employees in the same company doing different jobs, but cooperating to achieve a common end.

Diversity of Ministries

Unity in Christ does not mean redundancy. If Christ's purpose requires a division of labor, then demanding all Christians do the same work, or restricting them from any diversity of labor is contrary to Christ's purpose and therefore of itself divisive. What attitude do you have towards other Christians who are not involved in the same ministry or programs as you?

Attitude of Humility

As the root of their division was pride, Paul speaks here of humility. Such an attitude helps us not only properly cooperate with other laborers, but to cooperate with God, giving him glory. To whom do you credit the results of your labor?



United in Purpose, Evaluated Individually

1Cor 3:8  The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor.

While there must be a diversity of ministries, a diversity of giftedness, such as he will speak on later in chapter 12, there must also be a unity of purpose in doing the works we are called to. Now there will be a judgment, as he will speak of further on in this section. And Jesus spoke of this a number of times, such as in his parable of the Workers in the Vineyard, and  The Talents. Paul also writes, "For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad." 2Cor 5:10 That judgment will be on an individual basis. So don't rely simply on your allegiances or mere attendance to get you through that. What has the Lord called you yourself to do, and how well are you fulfilling your responsibilities along those lines?



Handing off the ministry

1Cor 3:9,10  For we are Godís fellow workers; you are Godís field, Godís building. By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should be careful how he builds.

Paul was called to a foundational ministry. An "apostle" is literally "a sent one", like unto a missionary. Paul established churches and then moved on leaving the church in the hands of competent leadership. This process of handing over one's ministry to another is often a struggle among church leaders who perhaps have too possessive an atittude. But Paul saw the churches he established as not belonging to himself but to God. They are God's field, God's building.

However even though Paul deferred to Apollos as their primary care-giver, notice that Paul continues to write to them. This is another thing you don't commonly see. If a church leader leaves a church and is replace by another, you generally don't hear from them again. Should that be?



Christ the Foundation

1Cor 3:11 For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.

The church's one foundation is Jesus Christ our Lord. Paul said, "what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures" 1Cor 15:3 The gospel encompasses the person of Christ - that is, Christ as Lord and Savior - the works of Christ - his atoning work on the cross, his miracles and resurrection - and the teachings of Christ - which includes not only what he said in his earthly ministry, but what he also said through his apostles, and thus incorporates the whole of the New Testament and as it is also written that "Godís household is built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone." Eph 2:20 For Christ spoke through the prophets in the Old Testament and then through his apostles in the New.

Treating Christ as the foundation of our faith is revealed by doing what he said. Jesus said, "The one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation." Luke 6:49a



Will Your Building Stand?

1Cor 3:12,13  If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each manís work.

Now while Paul's specific application here regards the works of those who minister, namely he and Apollos, all saints are called to minister in some fashion. "We are Godís workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do." Eph 2:10 When we do those works we are building on the foundation of our faith with gold, silver and precious stones. But when we sin we are adding wood, hay and stray to the house we call our lives, our works, our legacy. A day of judgment will come in which, not we ourselves, but what we have built, will be tested as to its quality. So be prepared.



Loss or Reward

1Cor 3:14,15 If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames.

It is not the saints but their works which are to be subjected to fire. Paul is not portraying a sort of purgatory scenario and one's salvation is not the issue. The works of the saints which are burned up are twofold. Personal sins are done away with and forgotten, as God says, "Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more." Heb 10:17 We suffer the loss of those parts of our lives we sinned, and we suffer the loss of the vain things we may have pursued. But we also may suffer the loss of others who end up in hell because we negelected to do God's work in their lives. What losses may you expect to suffer in such a trial?

That which survives is what we have built in cooperation with God. Such cooperation will be rewarded. And that includes those we've influenced, as Paul writes, "For what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you?" 1Th 2:19 And Jesus speaks much of works worthy of rewards, like he says, "If anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward." Mt 10:42



You are Sacred

1Cor 3:16,17  Donít you know that you yourselves are Godís temple and that Godís Spirit lives in you? If anyone destroys Godís temple, God will destroy him; for Godís temple is sacred, and you are that temple.

The saints are God's temple both collectively and individually. Here he's speaking collectively as he just said of the church, "you are Godís field, Godís building." In chapter 6 he will also speak of being a temple individually. Paul does not have suicide in mind here. He's been talking about himself and Apollos as examples of ministers of the gospel. By "anyone who destroys God's temple", he is referring to those who are false teachers and such seeking to destroy the community of the saints. Likewise Jesus said, "if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to be thrown into the sea with a large millstone tied around his neck." Mk 9:42



Sophomores

1Cor 3:18-20  Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a "fool" so that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in Godís sight. As it is written: "He catches the wise in their craftiness" (Job 5:13) ; and again, "The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile." (Ps 94:11)

A person wise in his own eyes or in the eyes of the world is unteachable. "Do you see a man wise in his own eyes? There is more hope for a fool than for him." Pr 26:12  "Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil." Pr 3:7 And Ps 94:11 which Paul quotes is followed by "Blessed is the man you discipline, O LORD, the man you teach from your law" Ps 94:12 In much of 1Corinthians Paul is disciplining them. In particular here he is speaking of those among them who reckon themselves wise by the standards of the world and usurp Paul and Apollos as teachers.

Part of human nature is the "sophomore" effect. "Sophomore" comes from the greek words "Sophos" which means "wise" and "moros" meaning dull and from which we get "moron". A sophomore is a wise moron. With a little knowlege he thinks he knows it all and can be a teacher. If you've come to the point where you think you no longer need to learn anything, you may be just a sophomore.



Celebrities

1Cor 3:21-23 So then, no more boasting about men! All things are yours, whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas or the world or life or death or the present or the futureó all are yours, and you are of Christ, and Christ is of God.

The world boasts of its celebrities but it should not be so among the saints. Yet there are those reckoned celebrities in the Christian community. Beware of making too much of such people. And beware the seeking of a celebrity status or social status and of those who seek such.  "It is not good to eat too much honey, nor is it honorable to seek oneís own honor." Pr 25:27 And this is what the LORD says: "Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight," declares the LORD." Jer 9:23,24

 When you talk about Christianity, do you find you often make reference to your pastor, or a famous Christian or someone other than Christ? If so, perhaps you should reevaluate whom you are boasting about. Christian ministers and theologians are merely resources. And some better than others. But boasting of men is rooted in the search for personal significance vicariously through one's allegiances. Paul counters this insecurity by reminding the saints that they stand to inherit all things. Elsewhere he says, "I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord." Rom 8:38,39

Place your significance and security in Christ rather than in your allegiance to men or to institutions of men.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015