翻譯:English 简体中文

約翰福音 12:27-50

光的傳遞

12:27 “我現在心媦~愁,我說什麼才好呢?
父啊,救我脫離這時候。但我原是為這時候來的。
12:28 父啊,愿你榮耀你的名!”
當時就有聲音從天上來說:
“我已經榮耀了我的名,還要再榮耀。”
12:29 站在旁邊的眾人聽見,
就說:“打雷了。”還有人說:“有天使對他說話。”
12:30 耶穌說:“這聲音不是為我,是為你們來的。
12:31 現在這世界受審判,這世界的王要被趕出去。
12:32 我若從地上被舉起來,就要吸引萬人來歸我。”
12:33 耶穌這話原是指著自己將要怎樣死說的。

12:34 眾人回答說:
“我們聽見律法上有話說,基督是永存的。【以賽亞書 9:7】
你怎麼說:‘人子必須被舉起來’呢?這人子是誰呢?”
12:35 耶穌對他們說:“光在你們中間還有不多的時候,
應當趁著有光行走,免得黑暗臨到你們。
那在黑暗埵璅囿滿A不知道往何處去。
36  你們應當趁著有光,信從這光,
使你們成為光明之子。”

耶穌說了這話,就離開他們,隱藏了。
12:37 他雖然在他們面前行了許多神蹟,他們還是不信他
12:38 這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話說:
“主啊,我們所傳的有誰信呢?
主的膀臂向誰顯露呢?”
12:39 他們所以不能信,因為以賽亞又說:
12:40 “主叫他們瞎了眼,硬了心,
免得他們眼睛看見,心堜白,
回轉過來,我就醫治他們。”
12:41 以賽亞因為看見他的榮耀,就指著他說這話。
12:42 雖然如此,官長中卻有好些信他的,
只因法利賽人的緣故,就不承認
恐怕被趕出會堂。
12:43 這是因他們愛人的榮耀,過于愛神的榮耀

12:44 耶穌大聲說:
“信我的,不是信我,乃是信那差我來的。
12:45 人看見我,就是看見那差我來的。
12:46 我到世上來,乃是光,
叫凡信我的不住在黑暗堙C
12:47 若有人聽見我的話不遵守,我不審判他。
我來本不是要審判世界,乃是要拯救世界。
12:48 棄絕我,不領受我話的人,有審判他的。
就是我所講的道,在末日要審判他。
12:49 因為我沒有憑著自己講。惟有差我來的父,
已經給我命令,叫我說什麼,講什麼。
12:50 我也知道他的命令就是永生。
故此,我所講的話
正是照著父對我所說的。”

問題討論

第27-28節 感到不太愿做神要我們做的事情是罪嗎?
如果連耶穌都不能靠他的感覺來確定神的意愿,
我們怎麼能夠知道神要我們做什麼呢?
良心起的作用是什麼?
第31節他說:“現在這世界受審判”,但在第47節又說他來本不是要審判世界。如何解釋這個佯謬?
第31節 誰是這世界的王?他要怎樣被趕出去?
第32 節“被舉起來”的兩種不同涵義是什麼?
我們如何用它們來把人引向耶穌?
第34節 這些人對基督的誤解是什麼?
第37-40節 這個預言是在預見還是在說明原因?
第42-43節 如何形容這些官長信心的質量?
今天有哪些類似的妨礙信心的障礙?
第44-50 節那麼其它那些自稱信神,但拒不接受福音的宗教真的信神嗎?
比較你對父神和子的認識,他們有什麼不同?
耶穌在這婸’陪些區別?

注釋

第27-28a節 這塈畯怓搢在客西馬尼的禱告堜狺洉M出的:“我心堿えO憂傷,幾乎要死。……我父啊,倘若可行,求你叫這杯離開我。然而,不要照我的意思,只要照你的意思。”有時,神會要我們做我們不愿做的事情。正是在這種情形下,一個人的服從和順服程度受到考驗。雖然基督徒多愿被稱為仆人,但他們常常不愿被待為仆人。

第28b-31節 神從天上說話又一次向我們肯定這個福音。“這世界”受審判是在十字架上完成的,耶穌為這個世界的罪付出了贖價。“這世界的王”指的是魔鬼撒但,他還在【約翰福音 14:30】【約翰福音 16:11】堻Q稱作“這世界的王”,在【以弗所書 2:2】 堻Q稱作“空中掌權者”。“趕出去”與趕鬼用的是同一個詞。撒但將被從神的民中趕出去,使他不再能用對死的懼怕來統治他們。經上說:“兒女既同有血肉之體,他也照樣親自成了血肉之體。特要借著死,敗壞那掌死權的,就是魔鬼。并要釋放那些一生因怕死而為奴仆的人。”【希伯來書 2:14,15】

第32,33節 耶穌在此之前曾對尼哥底母說:“摩西在曠野怎樣舉蛇,人子也必照樣被舉起來。叫一切信他的都得永生(或作‘叫一切信的人在他堶控o永生’)。”【約翰福音3:14-15】 “被舉起來”有兩種涵義。按照第32節的用法,它可從字面上理解為在釘十字架時,被從地上舉起來。因而釘十字架是福音的中心。但它也有“被尊崇”的意思。我們尊崇耶穌基督就可將各種人引向他。有些人,如學院派的和自由派的神學家,他們在一定程度上承認歷史上的耶穌,甚至承認他被釘了十字架,但他們不按他是誰尊崇他。這種人不是在把人引向基督。

萬人的“萬”譯自希臘文“πας”一詞,這個詞常用來表達“各種的”意思,而不是指全世界的每一個人。的確,在他被升起後,各種人都被引向他。

第34-36a節 律法堥S有提到基督是永存的,但他們是指著舊約說的。以賽亞書媦g到:“他的政權與平安必加增無窮。他必在大衛的寶座上,治理他的國,以公平公義使國堅定穩固,從今直到永遠。” 【以賽亞書 9:7】 但他們沒有全面的完整圖像,也不知道將要發生的一切事情。許多抱定目光短淺的神學假定的基督徒也有類似情況,他們教條地認為如此這般這般一定是對的,因為聖經這麼說了,結果誤解了聖經的真正意思。

耶穌是把我們引向神的光,正如太陽光把我們引向太陽一樣。信是成為光明之子的先決條件。加爾文主義把這個顛倒過來,認為人必需先由神生──重生──之後才能信。但聖經說任何人只有在信了和接受基督之後才有權成為神的孩子,經上說:“凡接待他的,就是信他名的人,他就賜他們權柄,作神的兒女。”【約翰福音 1:12】 另見信心和重生。做光明之子包括光明的態度和光明的行為。(以弗所書5)

第36b-43節 這個預言是預見性的,正如預言所應該的那樣。它說的不是原因。它的意思是,因為出于他們的自由意識,他們選擇不信,所以他們的心就硬了。我們還可在羅馬書第一章堿搢儦鼣o個因果關系的闡述,例如:“他們既然故意不認識神,神就任憑他們存邪僻的心,行那些不合理的事。”這個因果關系又一次與加爾文主義所說的相反。加爾文主義把人描繪成沒有自由意識的玩偶,神將信或不信強加給人,而不在乎個人的任何選擇。神會對人所作的選擇作出反應,這是公正的。人只能對自己能力范圍內所做的負責。否則神就不公正了,而且如果他象控制玩偶一樣控制人,因而應該對人罪惡行為負責的話,那麼甚至連他自己也是有罪的了。但神的無上的計劃照樣能夠完成,因為神預知人會怎麼做。把這種知識溶匯到他的計劃中,就既維護了他的主權也保障了人的自由意識。

我們還注意到,這個預言應按“一般說來”理解,而不是沒有例外。因為雖然有些人只在一定程度上信,但的確有人真正地信基督,如保羅寫到:“我且說,神棄絕了他的百姓嗎?斷乎沒有。因為我也是以色列人,亞伯拉罕的後裔,屬便雅憫支派的。”【羅馬書 11:1】  至于這些“信”了的官長,我們注意到他們的信的質量是很低的。他們的信只是一個看法,而不是確定的信。因為如果是確信的話,他們就會承認的,經上說:“但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:‘我因信,所以如此說話。’我們也信,所以也說話。” 【歌林多後書 4:13】  但這些官長沒有那種信。他們的信不是能夠使他們得救的信,因為沒有行為的信是徒有虛名的死的信。還有“你若口婸{耶穌為主,心堳H神叫他從死奡_活,就必得救。”【羅馬書 10:9】 所以只有勇于承認的信才能使人得救。耽心別人對你的看法是發展使人得救的信的主要障礙。所以,那些迎合眾人的和注重他們的社會地位的人是最不愿意來信基督的。

第44-50節 世上有許多信教的人自稱信神。但如果在聽了福音後他們還是不信福音堜珨〞滌繴的話,那麼他們本來并不信神。他們所信的不是造物的主。如果他們想知到神是什麼樣的,就應該仔細地看基督。就連基督徒堣]有人認為耶穌是一個謙和溫順的人,而父則是非常不同,是充滿了忿怒的和可怕的,如舊約埵陵伝y繪的那樣。但父就像子一樣,子就像父一樣。從來如此,永遠如此。子也是充滿忿怒的,如我們在啟示錄媄鬗_他的第二次來臨描寫所看到的那樣。而父也充滿了慈愛。

現在不是像最後的審判那樣審判人的行為的時候。現在是拯救的時候。那些對耶穌的道做出正確響應的人將會得救。因為他的道就是生命。“可見信道是從聽道來的,聽道是從基督的話來的。” 【羅馬書 10:17】


2020年09月26日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 12:27-50 (web)

The Passing of the Light

27  "Now my soul is troubled. What shall I say?
ĎFather, save me from this time?í But for this cause I came to this time.
28  Father, glorify your name!"  (Also Mt 26:38,39)
Then there came a voice out of the sky, saying,
"I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again."
29  The multitude therefore, who stood by and heard it,
said that it had thundered. Others said, "An angel has spoken to him."
30  Jesus answered, "This voice hasnít come for my sake, but for your sakes.
31  Now is the judgment of this world. Now the prince of this world will be cast out.  (Eph 2:2; John 14:30)
32  And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself."
33  But he said this, signifying by what kind of death he should die.

34  The multitude answered him,
"We have heard out of the law that the Christ remains forever.   (Isaiah 9:7)
How do you say, ĎThe Son of Man must be lifted up?í Who is this Son of Man?"
35  Jesus therefore said to them, "Yet a little while the light is with you.
Walk while you have the light, that darkness doesnít overtake you.
He who walks in the darkness doesnít know where he is going.
36  While you have the light, believe in the light,
that you may become children of light."

Jesus said these things, and he departed and hid himself from them.
37  But though he had done so many signs before them, yet they didnít believe in him,
38  that the word of Isaiah the prophet might be fulfilled, which he spoke,
"Lord, who has believed our report?
To whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?"  (Is 53:1)
39  For this cause they couldnít believe, for Isaiah said again,
40  "He has blinded their eyes and he hardened their heart,
Lest they should see with their eyes, And perceive with their heart,
And would turn, And I would heal them."  (Is 6:9,10; Is 29:10; 2Cor 4:4; 2Cor 3:14; 1John 2:11)
41  Isaiah said these things when he saw his glory, and spoke of him. (Compare with Is 6:1)
42  Nevertheless even of the rulers many believed in him,
but because of the Pharisees they didnít confess it,
so that they wouldnít be put out of the synagogue,  (John 9:22)
43  for they loved menís praise more than Godís praise.

44  Jesus cried out and said,
"Whoever believes in me, believes not in me, but in him who sent me.
45  He who sees me sees him who sent me.  (John 14:8,9)
46  I have come as a light into the world,  (John 3:19-21)
that whoever believes in me may not remain in the darkness.
47  If anyone listens to my sayings, and doesnít believe, I donít judge him.
For I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.
48  He who rejects me, and doesnít receive my sayings, has one who judges him.
The word that I spoke, the same will judge him in the last day.
49  For I spoke not from myself, but the Father who sent me,
he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
50  I know that his commandment is eternal life.
The things therefore which I speak,
even as the Father has said to me, so I speak."


Discussion Questions

vs 27-28 It is sinful not to feel like doing what God wants us to do?
If not even Jesus can trust his feelings to determine God's will,
then how can we know what God wants us to do?
And where does the conscience come into play?
In verse 31 he says, "Now is the judgment of this world", but in verse 47 says that he came not to judge the world. How do you resolve this paradox?
vs 31 who is the prince of this world and in what way is he cast out?
vs 32 What are two different connotations of "lifted up"?
And how can we use them to draw others to Christ?
vs 34 What misconceptions did these people have about Christ?
vs 37-40 Was this prophecy predictive or causative?
vs 42-43 How would you describe the quality of faith of these rulers?
What are similar impediments to faith today?
vs 44-50 What about those of other religions who claim to believe in God, but reject the gospel? Do they really believe in God?
Compare your view of the Father to your view of the Son. How do they differ?
And what does Jesus say of the differences here?


Comments

vs 27-28a Here we have what is also reflected in his prayer in Gethsemane. "My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. ... My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass away from me; nevertheless, not what I desire, but what you desire." At times God will ask us to do things which we really don't want to do. It is under such conditions that one's level of submission and obedience is really tested. And though Christians often like to be called servants, they often don't like to be treated like servants.

vs 28b-31 In God speaking from the sky we have another affirmation of the gospel. The judgment of "this world" would be accomplished on the cross in which Jesus would pay for the sins of the world. The "prince of this world" is the devil of whom he will also reference as "prince" or "ruler" in John 14:30 and John 16:11 and is also called prince in Ephesians 2:2. "cast out" is the same expression used in casting out demons. Satan would be cast out from among God's people and would no longer rule over them through the fear of death. For it is written that "14 Since then the children have shared in flesh and blood, he also himself in like manner partook of the same, that through death he might bring to nothing him who had the power of death, that is, the devil, and might deliver all of them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.  " Heb 2:14,15

vs 32,33 Jesus had previously said to Nicodemus, "As Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in him should not perish, but have eternal life."  "Lifted up" has two connotations. As it mentions in verse 32 it can mean to literally be lifted up from the earth as in a crucifixion. And thus the crucifixion is central to the gospel message. But it also means "to be exalted". By exalting Jesus Christ we draw all kinds of people to him. For there are those such as the Jesus seminar people and other liberal theologians who acknowledge an historical Jesus to a degree and even acknowledge his being crucified, but they fail to exalt him for who he is. Such people are not drawing others to Christ.

"All" is the word "pas" which most frequently refers to "all kinds of" rather than referring universally to everyone in the world. And indeed as he has been lifted up, all kinds of people have been drawn to him.

vs 34-36a There is nothing in the Law itself concerning the Christ remaining forever, but they be just referring generally to the Old Testament. It is written in Isaiah, "Of the increase of his government and peace there will be no end. He will reign on Davidís throne and over his kingdom, establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness from that time on and forever." Is 9:7 But they did not have the whole picture and did not realize all that must take place. And so also is the case for many a Christian with short-sighted theological presumptions who dogmatically assume that such and such must be true because the Bible says it, but end up misinterpreting what the Bible is really saying.

Jesus is the light that leads us to God just as the light which comes from the sun leads us to the sun. Believing precedes becoming a child of the light. Calvinists have this backwards who presume that one must first be born of God - regenerate - before believing. But the Bible teaches that one is not even given the right to become a child of God until one believes and receives Christ, as it is written, "But as many as received him, to them he gave the right to become Godís children, to those who believe in his name." John 1:12 See also Faith & Regeneration. Being a child of the light incorporates both an enlightened attitude and an elightened behavior. (Ephesian 5)

vs 36b-43 This prophecy is predictive, as prophecies should be. It is not causative. What it means is that, having chosen out of their free will to not believe, they were then hardened. We see this cause and effect portrayed in Romans chapter 1, for example "Even as they refused to have God in their knowledge, God gave them up to a reprobate mind." And once again this cause/effect relationship is contrary to Calvinism which portrays people as mere puppets devoid of free will and upon which God forces belief or disbelief independently of any sense of personal choice. God reacts to people's choice, which is just. People are held responsible for those actions of which they are in control. Else God would be unjust and even himself reckoned guilty if he were responsible for people's sinful actions by controlling them in a puppetlike fashion. But God's sovereign plan is preserved in that God foreknows how people will behave. And by incorporating such knowledge into his plan both his sovereignty and man's free will are preserved.God utilized Satan in blinding their eyes, along with their preference for darkness.

Is 6:9,10 He said, "Go and tell this people: "íBe ever hearing, but never understanding; be ever seeing, but never perceiving.í Make the heart of this people calloused; make their ears dull and close their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts, and turn and be healed."

Is 29:10 The LORD has brought over you a deep sleep: He has sealed your eyes (the prophets); he has covered your heads (the seers).

2Cor 3:14  But their minds were blinded. For until this day the same veil remains unlifted in the reading of the Old Testament, because the veil is taken away in Christ.

2Cor 4:4  whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them.

1Jo 2:11  But he who hates his brother is in darkness and walks in darkness, and does not know where he is going, because the darkness has blinded his eyes.

Also we notice that the prophecy is meant to be read as "generally speaking", rather than to be taken universally. For there were those who believed to an extent and there will be others who put true faith in Christ, as Paul writes, "I ask then, Did God reject his people? May it never be! For I also am an Israelite, a descendant of Abraham, of the tribe of Benjamin." Romans 11:1  But concerning these rulers who "believed", we notice that quality of their faith was rather low. Their belief was merely an opinion, not a conviction. For if it were a conviction then they would confess, as it is written, "But having the same spirit of faith, according to that which is written, 'I believed, and therefore I spoke.' We also believe, and therefore also we speak;" 2Corinthians 4:13  But these rulers did not have that kind of faith. It is not a saving faith, for faith without its outworkings is a dead faith being in name only. And "if you will confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved." Rom 10:9 and thus it is a confessing faith which saves. Being afraid of what other people think of you is one of the primary hinderances to developing saving faith. And thus it is the popular and those concerned for their social status that are most reluctant to come to faith in Christ.

vs 44-50 There are a multitude of people in the world of many religions who claim to believe in God. But if upon hearing the gospel they don't believe in Christ as he is portrayed in the gospels, then they really haven't been believing in God. What they've been believing in is something other than the Creator. If you really want to know what God is like, then examine Christ. Even in the Christian community there are those who view Jesus as a gentle and meek person but view God the Father as quite different, being full of wrath and terrifying as portrayed at times in the Old Testament. But the Father is just like the Son and the Son just like the Father. Always has been. Always will be. The Son is also full of wrath as we see in the book of Revelation concerning his second coming. And the Father also full of mercy.

It was not time for the judgment in terms of the final judgment in which people will be called to account for their behavior. Now was the time to provide salvation. Those who respond correctly to Jesus' words will be saved. For his words are life. "So faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God." Rom 10:17



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015