翻譯: English 中文 GB

腓利門書

在基督媟s發現的自由

1:1 為基督耶穌被囚的保羅,同兄弟提摩太,
  寫信給我們所親愛的同工腓利門,

1:2 和妹子亞腓亞,并與我們同當兵的亞基布,
  以及在你家的教會:

1:3 愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

1:4 我禱告的時候提到你,常為你感謝我的神﹔
1:5 因聽說你的愛心,并你向主耶穌和眾聖徒的信心
  (或作“因聽說你向主耶穌和眾聖徒有愛心有信心”)。

1:6 愿你與人所同有的信心顯出功效,
  使人知道你們各樣善事都是為基督做的。

1:7 兄弟啊,我為你的愛心大有快樂,大得安慰,
  因眾聖徒的心從你得了暢快。


1:8 我雖然靠著基督能放膽吩咐你合宜的事﹔
1:9 然而像我這有年紀的保羅,現在又是為基督耶穌被囚的,
  寧可憑著愛心求你。

1:10 就是為我在捆鎖中所生的兒子阿尼西母
  (此名就是“有益處的”意思)求你。


1:11 他從前與你沒有益處,但如今與你我都有益處。
1:12 我現在打發他親自回你那堨h,他是我心上的人。
1:13 我本來有意將他留下,
  在我為福音所受的捆鎖中替你伺候我。

1:14 不知道你的意思
  我就不愿意這樣行,叫你的善行不是出于勉強,乃是出于甘心

1:15 他暫時離開你,
  或者是叫你永遠得著他──

1:16 不再是奴仆,乃是高過奴仆,是親愛的兄弟。
  在我實在是如此,何況在你呢。
  這也不拘是按肉體說,是按主說。

1:17 你若以我為同伴,就收納他,如同收納我一樣。
1:18 他若虧負你,或欠你什麼,都歸在我的賬上,
1:19 我必償還。這是我保羅親筆寫的。
  我并不用對你說,連你自己也是虧欠于我。

1:20 兄弟啊,望你使我在主埵]你得快樂(或作“益處”)﹔
  并望你使我的心在基督堭o暢快。


1:21 我寫信給你,深信你必順服,
  知道你所要行的,必過于我所說的。

1:22 此外,你還要給我預備住處,
  因為我盼望借著你們的禱告,必蒙恩到你們那堨h。

1:23 為基督耶穌與我同坐監的以巴弗問你安。
1:24 與我同工的馬可、亞媢F古、底馬、路加也都問你安。
1:25 愿我們主耶穌基督的恩常在你的心堙C阿們。


問題討論

腓利門是誰?他與保羅是什麼關系?
從這封信,腓利門的突出品質是什麼?
第6節 分享你的信是如何提高和加深你對基督的認識的?
阿尼西母是誰?他做了什麼?
保羅對奴隸制的態度是什麼? (參見歌林多前書 7:21-23
保羅對待阿尼西母的態度與基督對待我們信徒有何相似之處?
還有其它什麼因素使得保羅同情阿尼西母?
你會怎麼處理這個情形?

注釋

腓利門書──引言

腓利門書 1:1-3 為基督耶穌被囚的保羅,同兄弟提摩太,寫信給我們所親愛的同工腓利門,和妹子亞腓亞,并與我們同當兵的亞基布,以及在你家的教會:愿恩惠、平安從神我們的父和主耶穌基督歸與你們。

有意思的是雖然這封信的內容是對個人──腓利門──寫的,然而事實上他說這封信要對其他很多人公開。當你在給某個個人寫信的時候,要按這封信好像要被更多的人讀到那樣去寫。

亞基布還在歌羅西書奡ㄗ魽A有些人說他是腓利門家的人,也許是他的兒子。歌羅西書埵b說到他時說:“務要謹慎,盡你從主所受的職分。”【歌羅西書 4:17】

就如保羅的大部分書信那樣,他在這封信的開始就為他們禱告從神來的恩惠和平安,因為他們已經通過十字架與神和好。


愿信心顯出功效

腓利門書 1:4-6 我禱告的時候提到你,常為你感謝我的神﹔因聽說你的愛心,并你向主耶穌和眾聖徒的信心(或作“因聽說你向主耶穌和眾聖徒有愛心有信心”)。愿你與人所同有的信心顯出功效,使人知道你們各樣善事都是為基督做的。

關于你的信心和你對眾聖徒的愛,其他的基督徒聽到了些什麼呢?這些特徵在早期的基督徒身上是很顯著的。關于帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒,保羅寫到:“在神我們的父面前,不住地記念你們因信心所作的工夫,因愛心所受的勞苦,因盼望我們主耶穌基督所存的忍耐。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:3】他接下來還說:“因為主的道從你們那堣w經傳揚出來,你們向神的信心不但在馬其頓和亞該亞,就是在各處也都傳開了﹔所以不用我們說什麼話。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:8】同樣關于以弗所的聖徒,他說:“因此,我既聽見你們信從主耶穌,親愛眾聖徒,就為你們不住地感謝神,禱告的時候,常提到你們。”【以弗所書 1:15-16】關于歌羅西的聖徒也同樣(【歌羅西書 1:3-4】)。

傳福音對于在信堛漱H來說應該是自然的。保羅寫到:“但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:‘我因信,所以如此說話。’我們也信,所以也說話。”【哥林多後書 4:13】要為其他基督徒能夠主動地分享他們的信禱告。要明白積極主動地分享你的信不但使那些聽見的人受益,也使你受益。我們中的很多人有這個體驗,分享我們的信增強我們對我們在基督堣@切善事的理解。或換句話說就是,我禱告,“愿你與人所同有的信心顯出功效,使人知道你們各樣善事都是為基督做的。”禱告可以使傳福音更有效。


用愛心安慰別人

腓利門書 1:7 兄弟啊,我為你的愛心大有快樂,大得安慰,因眾聖徒的心從你得了暢快。

“得了暢快”就是使人得安息的意思。保羅在哥林多前書媬邡飛g歷到:“司提反和福徒拿都,并亞該古到這堥荂A我很喜歡,因為你們待我有不及之處他們補上了。他們叫我和你們心堻ㄖ眲﹛C這樣的人,你們務要敬重。”【哥林多前書 16:17-18】你怎樣能夠使那些在主堻珥W的人的到安息呢?

你的愛不但能使他們大有快樂,大得安慰,而且使其他看到你的榜樣的基督徒大有快樂,大得安慰。


對成熟的人的勸告

腓利門書 1:8-10 我雖然靠著基督能放膽吩咐你合宜的事﹔然而像我這有年紀的保羅,現在又是為基督耶穌被囚的,寧可憑著愛心求你。就是為我在捆鎖中所生的兒子阿尼西母(此名就是“有益處的”意思)求你。

阿尼西母是從腓利門那堸k走的奴隸。腓利門是一個基督徒,是保羅的朋友。阿尼西母逃到保羅那堙A結果顯然也成了基督徒。他對保羅很盡心,保羅把他當作兒子。

關于阿尼西母,保羅有對腓利門的指示。但至于他交流他的指示的方式,保羅有所選擇。因為他要麼可以下命令,要麼可以勸導,靠腓利門的愛心來做正確的事。因為到頭來:“凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10b】但這往往是一個程度的問題,取決于一個人的成熟。因為就如成年人往往以命令的方式指示孩子,但在孩子逐漸成熟後則更多地使用規勸的方式,基督徒中也一樣。

但這埵雪N思的是保羅明白地告訴腓利門他對給他指示的方式的選擇。有時,最好告訴人你相信他們已足夠地成熟,有足夠的智慧來接受勸言,并為之采取行動。就如在服從命令中包含著愛,成熟的愛也由選擇的自由程度顯示出來。在律法之,十一奉獻是一個責任。但即然是責任就不是康慨大方的行動。然而神要我們實踐康慨大方,因此他除去了條例,這樣我們做事就能夠按原則,而不是遵著條例。正是從這一點出發,保羅希望給腓利門自己選擇的自由,這樣他可以出于愛心來行事,而不是出于盡責。


有益處的基督徒

腓利門書 1:11-13 他從前與你沒有益處,但如今與你我都有益處。我現在打發他親自回你那堨h,他是我心上的人。我本來有意將他留下,在我為福音所受的捆鎖中替你伺候我。

先前,作為非基督徒,阿尼西母被看作是“沒有益處的”。因為雖然非基督徒仆人也許在屬物的事上有一些實際的益處,但如果這些事不含有屬靈的因素在堶情A則是空虛的。比如保羅在別處寫到:“弟兄們,我對你們說,時候減少了。從此以後,那有妻子的,要像沒有妻子﹔哀哭的,要像不哀哭﹔快樂的,要像不快樂﹔置買的,要像無有所得﹔用世物的,要像不用世物。因為這世界的樣子將要過去了。”【哥林多前書 7:29-31】

但那些由神生的人則不但被看作是得了救的,而且是有用的。“我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。”【以弗所書 2:10】

保羅出于他的自由選擇把阿尼西母送回腓利門,這表現出他自己的康慨大方。但注意到這不但包含了保羅的自由選擇,也包含了阿尼西母的自由選擇。因為律法說:“若有奴仆脫了主人的手,逃到你那堙A你不可將他交付他的主人。他必在你那婸P你同住,在你的城邑中,要由他選擇一個所喜悅的地方居住。你不可欺負他。”【申命記 23:15-16】

這一節顯示出多年來很多人認為聖經贊成奴役制其實是一個誤解。律法之下的奴役制包含了很多個人的自由選擇,遠多于很多人所意識到的。

還有,保羅還寫到關于作奴隸的基督徒:“你是作奴隸蒙召的嗎?不要因此憂慮。若能以自由,就求自由更好。因為作奴仆蒙召于主的,就是主所釋放的人﹔作自由之人蒙召的,就是基督的奴仆。你們是重價買來的﹔不要作人的奴仆。”【哥林多前書 7:21-23】


容納自發的行動

腓利門書 1:14-16 但不知道你的意思,我就不愿意這樣行,叫你的善行不是出于勉強,乃是出于甘心。他暫時離開你,或者是叫你永遠得著他──不再是奴仆,乃是高過奴仆,是親愛的兄弟。在我實在是如此,何況在你呢。這也不拘是按肉體說,是按主說。

如我們曾經提到的,基督徒在很大程度上不應受律法的責任感驅使,而要受聖靈的驅使,自然地,自發地去行善,而不是出于勉強去那樣做。“因此,我們常為你們禱告,愿我們的神看你們配得過所蒙的召,又用大能成就你們一切所羨慕的良善和一切因信心所作的工夫﹔”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:11】

注意到保羅對神的主權在這件事上的觀點。“他暫時離開你”是被動語態。因為雖然無疑阿尼西母是主動離開的,但這件事的背後是神,盡管當時阿尼西母還是非基督徒。因為神能夠感動非基督徒去行動,無論是君王(【箴言 21:1】),還是奴隸。保羅在說到一個人出生到某個特定環境堻o件事時說:“他從一本造出萬族的人(“本”有古卷作“血脈”),住在全地上,并且預先定准他們的年限,和所住的疆界。要叫他們尋求神,或者可以揣摩而得,其實他離我們各人不遠。”【使徒行傳 17:26-27】

對阿尼西母來說是如此,對我們其他所有人來說也是如此,如保羅在加拉太書中寫到:“我們為孩童的時候,受管于世俗小學之下,也是如此。及至時候滿足,神就差遣他的兒子,為女子所生,且生在律法以下,要把律法以下的人贖出來,叫我們得著兒子的名分。你們既為兒子,神就差他兒子的靈進入你們(原文作“我們”)的心,呼叫:‘阿爸,父。’可見,從此以後,你不是奴仆,乃是兒子了。既是兒子,就靠著神為後嗣。”【加拉太書 4:3-7】


承擔別人所欠的債

腓利門書 1:17-19 你若以我為同伴,就收納他,如同收納我一樣。他若虧負你,或欠你什麼,都歸在我的賬上,我必償還。這是我保羅親筆寫的。我并不用對你說,連你自己也是虧欠于我。

這使人想起好撒瑪利亞人的寓言,其中那個好撒瑪利亞人不但救了那個人,還對店主說:“你且照應他,此外所費用的,我回來必還你。”【路加福音 10:35b】或如馬太福音堜珨﹛G“我實在告訴你們,這些事你們既作在我這弟兄中一個最小的身上,就是作在我身上了。”【馬太福音 25:40】出于恩典,我們所欠的都算在耶穌身上,他為我們償清我們所欠的一切。這是保羅所學到的一課,這又是他所樹立的榜樣。

還有,“連你自己也是虧欠于我”這句話提醒我們,我們不但是多麼地虧欠并應該感激基督,而且虧欠并應該感激那些把我們領到基督的人。這使我們想起不饒人的仆人的寓言。雖然王免了那個不饒人的仆人所欠的巨債,但那不饒人的仆人卻不愿原諒同伴欠他的一小筆債。

雖然要理解把這樣一個先前逃走的仆人當作兒子迎回來很困難,但要看到天國的文化往往與這個世界的文化是有衝突的,特別是在關系方面。


深信你必順服

腓利門書 1:20-21 兄弟啊,望你使我在主埵]你得快樂(或作“益處”)﹔并望你使我的心在基督堭o暢快。我寫信給你,深信你必順服,知道你所要行的,必過于我所說的。

雖然保羅明確地說不要把他的要求當作命令,但要明白對一個來自像他這樣的權威的要求是應該包含一些順服的。在第8節堳O羅說到他有命令腓利門的權威。但在第14節堨L說到他想要腓利門在這件事上自己采取主動,而不是出于勉強。

我想這是重要的,因為這在很大程度上反映出基督是如何對成熟的基督徒行使他的主權的,這同時也給我們作為基督徒對互相間的關系立下了一個先例。如果神深信我們必順服,那麼主就不勉強我們,而允許我們自發主動。有些基督徒需要別人告訴他們去做什麼。這有不同的程度。但成熟的基督徒會自發地采取主動。因為有出自信心的順服(【羅馬書 1:5】),這種順服是自然的,不是出于勉強。耶穌說:“我的羊聽我的聲音﹔我也認識他們,他們也跟著我。”【約翰福音 10:27】這是羊的自然屬性,也是那些已經重生了的人的屬性。

還有,成熟的人不只是做要求他們做的。他們的特點是做得多于所要求的,“從心媬磽瘥囿漲捕N。”【以弗所書 6:6b】考慮一下,你如何能夠做得多于所要求的。


基督徒的弟兄關系

腓利門書 1:22-25 此外,你還要給我預備住處,因為我盼望借著你們的禱告,必蒙恩到你們那堨h。為基督耶穌與我同坐監的以巴弗問你安。與我同工的馬可、亞媢F古、底馬、路加也都問你安。愿我們主耶穌基督的恩常在你的心堙C阿們。

基督徒的生活和事奉不是意在孤立地自己單幹,而是要與信徒同伴一道。這個概念意味著需要實踐熱情待客。如果你要過基督徒的生活,是的,你的確要花一些個人的時間與其他基督徒在一起,這甚至包括為他們打開你的家門,盡管這看上去很麻煩。的確,這樣做的時候不能不情愿,而要帶著熱心。

如果你買一個房子,要把召待客人考慮進去。如果你有足夠的資源,就為可能的團契多准備一些空間。作為延伸,在作決定的時候,如果你能夠的話,要為基督徒的弟兄關系和事奉騰出資源和時間。有些人把他們的時間和資源全安排得滿滿的,以此作為不能參與事奉和與基督徒弟兄在一起的借口。但人們總是能夠為在他們看來重要的事找出時間和資源來。


Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

Philemon (web)

New Found Freedom in Christ

1:1 Paul, a prisoner of Christ Jesus, and Timothy our brother,
to Philemon, our beloved fellow worker,
1:2 to the beloved Apphia, to Archippus, our fellow soldier,
and to the assembly in your house:
1:3 Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

1:4 I thank my God always, making mention of you in my prayers,
1:5 hearing of your love, and of the faith which you have toward the Lord Jesus,
and toward all the saints;
1:6 that the fellowship of your faith may become effective,
in the knowledge of every good thing which is in us in Christ Jesus.
1:7 For we have much joy and comfort in your love,
because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed through you, brother.

1:8 Therefore, though I have all boldness in Christ to command you that which is appropriate,
1:9 yet for love's sake I rather beg, being such a one as Paul, the aged,
but also a prisoner of Jesus Christ.
1:10 I beg you for my child, whom I have become the father of in my chains,
Onesimus,{Onesimus means "useful."}

1:11 who once was useless to you, but now is useful to you and to me.
1:12 I am sending him back. Therefore receive him, that is, my own heart,
1:13 whom I desired to keep with me,
that on your behalf he might serve me in my chains for the gospel.
1:14 But I was willing to do nothing without your consent,
that your goodness would not be as of necessity, but of free will.

1:15 For perhaps he was therefore separated from you for a while,
that you would have him forever,
1:16 no longer as a slave, but more than a slave, a beloved brother,
especially to me, but how much rather to you, both in the flesh and in the Lord.
1:17 If then you count me a partner, receive him as you would receive me.
1:18 But if he has wronged you at all, or owes you anything, put that to my account.
1:19 I, Paul, write this with my own hand: I will repay it
(not to mention to you that you owe to me even your own self besides).
1:20 Yes, brother, let me have joy from you in the Lord. Refresh my heart in the Lord.

1:21 Having confidence in your obedience, I write to you,
knowing that you will do even beyond what I say.
1:22 Also, prepare a guest room for me,
for I hope that through your prayers I will be restored to you.
1:23 Epaphras, my fellow prisoner in Christ Jesus, greets you,
1:24 as do Mark, Aristarchus, Demas, and Luke, my fellow workers.
1:25 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.


Discussion Questions

Who is Philemon? What relationship did he have with Paul?
From this letter, what were Philemon's outstanding characteristics?
vs 6 How has sharing your faith enhanced and deepened your knowledge of Christ?
Who is Onesimus and what happened to him?
What was Paul's attitude towards slavery? (See also 1Cor 7:21-23)
How is Paul's attitude and treatment of Onesimus similar to Christ's treatment of us believers?
What factors also may have helped Paul to empathize with Onesimus?
How would you have handled this situation differently?


Comments

Philemon - Intro

Phm 1:1-3
Paul, a prisoner of Christ Jesus, and Timothy our brother, To Philemon our dear friend and fellow worker, to Apphia our sister, to Archippus our fellow soldier and to the church that meets in your home: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Interesting that the content of this letter is directed to an individual, Philemon. Yet in fact he indicates that this letter is to be open to lots of other people. When you write to an individual, write as if at some point your letter would be read by a wider audience.

Archippus is mentioned also in Col 4:17 and some say he was a member of Philemon’s family, probably his son. There it says of him, "See to it that you complete the work you have received in the Lord."

And as is common to most of Paul's greetings, first on his mind is to pray grace and peace upon them. We should desire our fellow Christians to experience the grace of God and the peace that comes from God, based upon having been reconciled to Him through the cross.


Pray for Active Faith

Phm 1:4-6  I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers, because I hear about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints. I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.

What do other Christians here of your faith and your love for all the saints? These characteristics were outstanding among the early Christians. Of the Thessalonians Paul writes, "We continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ." 1Thess 1:3 and goes on to say, "The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia— your faith in God has become known everywhere." 1Thess 1:8 Likewise of the Ephesians he says, "For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers." Eph 1:15,16 and of the Colossians as well (Col 1:3,4)

Evangelism should be natural to those of the faith. Paul writes, "It is written: 'I believed; therefore I have spoken.' With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak." 2Cor 4:13 Pray for other Christians that they may be active in sharing their faith. Understand that actively sharing your faith not only benefits those who hear, but it also benefits you. Many of us have had this experience, that sharing our faith increases our understanding of every good thing we have in Christ. Or another reading is, I pray "that the sharing of your faith may become effective by the acknowledgment of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus." Prayer can make evangelism effective.


Encourage others through Love

Phm 1:7 Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints.

"refreshed" is to give rest. Paul experienced himself in 1Corinthians, "I am glad about the coming of Stephanas, Fortunatus, and Achaicus, for what was lacking on your part they supplied. For they refreshed my spirit and yours. Therefore acknowledge such men." 1Cor 16:15,16 How might you give rest to those who labor for the Lord?

Not only will your love bring great joy and encouragement to those whom you refresh, but also to other Christians who see your example.


Appeal to the Mature

Phm 1:8-10 Therefore, although in Christ I could be bold and order you to do what you ought to do, yet I appeal to you on the basis of love. I then, as Paul— an old man and now also a prisoner of Christ Jesus— I appeal to you for my son Onesimus, who became my son while I was in chains.

Onesimus was a runaway slave owned by Philemon, a Christian and friend of Paul. Onesimus had runaway to Paul and apparently subsequently became a Christian with such devotion Paul identified him as his son.

Paul had instructions for Philemon concerning Onesimus. But Paul had a choice in terms of the manner in which he would communicate his instructions. For he could communicate it in the form of commands, or more in terms of advice, relying upon Philemon's love to do the right thing. For afterall, "Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10b But often this is a matter of degree, a function of one's maturity. For just as adults will more often instruct children by way of commands, but more in terms of advice as they mature, so also in the Christian community.

But what is also interesting here is that Paul tells Philemon explicitly of his choice of the manner of his instructions. Sometimes it's best to tell people that you believe they are mature enough to wisely accept advice and act upon it. While there is love in obeying commands, matured love is demonstrated in the context of freedom of choice. Consider generosity. Under the Law tithing was an obligation. But that which is an obligation is not an act of generosity. Yet God wants us to practice generosity and thus has removed regulations so that we can act upon principle rather than via regulations. This is the perspective Paul had and as such desired to provide Philemon freedom of choice that he may act out of love rather than simply out of obligation.


Useful Christians

Phm 1:11-13  Formerly he was useless to you, but now he has become useful both to you and to me. I am sending him— who is my very heart— back to you. I would have liked to keep him with me so that he could take your place in helping me while I am in chains for the gospel.

Formerly Onesimus, as a non-Christian, was viewed as "useless". For while non-Christian servants may have some practical usefulness with regards to material things, such things are vain if they don't include a spiritual component. For example Paul elsewhere writes, "What I mean, brothers, is that the time is short. From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none; those who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep; those who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them. For this world in its present form is passing away." 1Cor 7:29-31

But those who have been born of God are to be viewed not only as saved, but useful. "For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do." Eph 2:10

Paul shows his own generosity in his free choice of sending Onesimus back to Philemon. But realize this didn't simply involve Paul's choice, but also that of Onesimus. For the Law said, "You shall not give back to his master the slave who has escaped from his master to you. He may dwell with you in your midst, in the place which he chooses within one of your gates, where it seems best to him; you shall not oppress him." Deut 23:15,16

This verse reveals a misconception that many through the years have had concerning what the Bible condones concerning slavery. Slavery under the law was much more one's personal choice than many today realize.

Furthermore Paul also writes concerning Christian slaves, "Were you a slave when you were called? Don't let it trouble you-- although if you can gain your freedom, do so.  For he who was a slave when he was called by the Lord is the Lord's freedman; similarly, he who was a free man when he was called is Christ's slave. You were bought at a price; do not become slaves of men." 1Cor 7:21-23


Accommodate Spontaneity

Phm 1:14-16  But I did not want to do anything without your consent, so that any favor you do will be spontaneous and not forced. Perhaps the reason he was separated from you for a little while was that you might have him back for good— no longer as a slave, but better than a slave, as a dear brother. He is very dear to me but even dearer to you, both as a man and as a brother in the Lord.

As I mentioned, Christians should not be largely driven by a sense of legal obligations, but rather to be driven by the Spirit, doing what is right naturally, spontaneously, rather than having a sense of being forced to do so. "With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may count you worthy of his calling, and that by his power he may fulfill every good purpose of yours and every act prompted by your faith." 2Th 1:11

Notice Paul's view of God's sovereignty in this matter. "He was separated" is passive rather than active. For while Onesimus no doubt took action in leaving, yet God was behind it, Onesimus even being a non-Christian at the time. For God can move non-Christians to action, whether it be kings (Pr 21:1), or slaves. Paul speaks of the circumstances into which one is born, "He determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us."Acts 17:26,27

And as with Onesimus, so also with the rest of us, as Paul writes in Gal 4:3-7 "When we were children, we were in slavery under the basic principles of the world.  But when the time had fully come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under law, to redeem those under law, that we might receive the full rights of sons.  Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, <'Abba>, Father.' So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir."


Taking on Other's Debt

Phm 1:17-19 So if you consider me a partner, welcome him as you would welcome me. If he has done you any wrong or owes you anything, charge it to me. I, Paul, am writing this with my own hand. I will pay it back— not to mention that you owe me your very self.

One is reminded of the parable of the good samaritan in which the good samaritan not only saved the man, but also said to the innkeeper,  ‘Look after him, and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’ Or as it says in Mt 25:40 "Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me." And by grace what we owed was reckoned to Jesus who paid our debt. This is the lesson Paul learned, and this is the example he set.

Also that phrase "you owe me your very self." reminds us of how grateful and indebted we should be not only to Christ, but also to those who led us to Christ. One is reminded of the parable of the unforgiving servant who, after being forgiven a great personal debt, refuses to forgive his fellow servant of a minor debt.

Though realize how difficult culturally it would have been to welcome this former runaway slave as a son. The culture of the Kingdom is often at odds with the culture of the world, especially with regards to relationships.


Confident of Your Obedience

Phm 1:20,21  I do wish, brother, that I may have some benefit from you in the Lord; refresh my heart in Christ. Confident of your obedience, I write to you, knowing that you will do even more than I ask.

Realize that while Paul explicitly didn't intend for his request to be taken as an order, yet a request from someone of his authority should involve some compliance. In verse 8 Paul noted he had the authority to order Philemon what to do. But in verse 14 he noted that he wanted Philemon to feel free to take his own initiative in the matter, to be spontaneous and not forced to do so.

I think this is important because it largely reflects upon how Christ exercises his Lordship over mature Christians, and likewise sets a precedent for our relationship as Christians over one another.  If He's confident of our obedience, then the Lord doesn't force us, but rather allows us to be spontaneous. There are those Christians who need to be told what to do. And such to varying degrees. But the mature are spontaneous and take their own initiative. For there's an obedience that comes from faith (Rom 1:5), an obedience which is natural and not forced. Jesus said, "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me." John 10:27 That's the nature of sheep and that's the nature of those born-again.

Furthermore the mature don't simply do what they are asked. Rather they characteristically do more than they are asked, "doing the will of God from your heart." Eph 6:6 Consider how you might do more than you're asked.


Christian Fellowship

Phm 1:23-25 And one thing more: Prepare a guest room for me, because I hope to be restored to you in answer to your prayers. Epaphras, my fellow prisoner in Christ Jesus, sends you greetings. And so do Mark, Aristarchus, Demas and Luke, my fellow workers. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

The Christian life and ministry is not intended to be exercised in isolation but in concert with a fellowship of believers. Implied in such a concept is the necessity of practicing hospitality. If you're going to live the Christian life, yes you are going to have to spend some personal time with other Christians which may even involve opening your home to them, as intrusive as they may seem. Indeed such should not be done reluctantly but enthusiastically.

If you're buying a house, do so with hospitality in mind. If you have the resources have extra space available to accomodate potential fellowship. And by extension, when making decisions, if you can, allow for extra resources and extra time to allow fellowship and ministry. Some simply fill up their schedule and assign their resources just in order to excuse themselves from ministry and fellowship. Though, granted this takes more sacrifice from some more than others. But people always seem to find the time and resources for the things which are important for them.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015