翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書查經
以弗所書 | 1a | 1b | 2a | 2b | 3a | 3b | 4a | 4b | 5a | 5b | 6a | 6b | 筆記 

以弗所書概要

屬于神的家庭

加入神的家庭
神的家庭的建立 1:1-14
為神的家庭的顯現禱告 1:15-23
轉化到神的家庭
  • 由死到生
  • 2:1-10
  • 從外人到公民
  • 2:11-22
    神的家庭的奧秘 3:1-13
    為在神的家庭埵釆籉蚚咩i 3:14-21
    神的家庭堛漸肮
    生活在合一中,珍視多樣化 4:1-16
    脫去舊人,穿上新人 4:17-32
    在光明中行,模仿神的樣子 5:1-21
    在家庭和社會埵X宜的角色
  • 在婚姻中的合宜舉止
  • 5:21-33
  • 在家庭中和工作中的合宜舉止
  • 6:1-9
    行如神的家庭堛漱h兵 6:10-24


    以弗所書又一概要

    神做的工
    查經 關鍵經節

    神做的救贖工 1:1-14
    1:7


    神做的啟示工 1:15-23
    2:17


    神做的復活工 2:1-10
    2:1


    神做的和好工 2:11-22
    2:16


    神做的宣告工 3:1-13
    3:8,9


    神做的潔淨工 3:14-21
    3:16


    基督徒的行




    基督徒合一的行 4:1-16
    4:3
    合一 4:1-16
    基督徒悔改的行 4:17-32
    4:24
    聖潔 4:17-5:14
    基督徒在光明埵 5:1-21


    基督徒順服的行,之一 5:22-33
    5:16
    智慧 5:15-6:9
    基督徒順服的行,之二 6:1-9


    基督徒權能的行 6:10-23
    6:10
    權能 6:10-24



    以弗所書

    總的思路

    保羅為以弗所的聖徒禱告

    應用 (4:1+)


    歷史背景

    以弗所是一座位于現代土爾其西海岸的城市。以弗所最初是由希臘人作為一條貿易通道的一部分建造的。到了新約時代,由于森林退化毀壞了土地和港口,以弗所已經有些衰敗。羅馬人幫助維持了以弗所作為貿易城市的地位。但在這時,他們正在經歷一場經濟衰退和危機。旅游業變得對他們很重要。他們靠什麼吸引游客呢?古代七大奇跡之一的亞底米神廟,亞底米的希臘文是“αρτμιζ”,有的譯本譯作“狄安娜”,當時有很多人拜亞底米。她被認作是自然的女神。作為那個宗教的一部分,娼妓在亞底米神廟行業。當時有很多來自世界各地的人到以弗所來拜亞底米,購買以弗所人為亞底米制造的偶像。

    保羅是在他第二次差傳回來的路上第一次訪問以弗所。他在猶太會堂堜M猶太人辯論,他們請他以後再回到那堙C他在第三次差傳的時候又回到那堙C但有些猶太人變得有敵意。于是他與那些還想多聽的人在一起待了兩年,在那媯馴L們傳講神的道。許多人成了基督徒,有猶太人,也有外邦人。

    保羅在那堿O如此的成功,以至那些制造的偶像的人失去了不少生意。這可以影響到以弗所的整個經濟。結果那奡N有許多人對基督徒充滿了敵意,為首的是一個名叫底米丟的偶像制造者。這種敵意几乎導致一場暴亂,但政府官員平息了事態,主要是因為官員們懼怕羅馬人。羅馬人當時統治了那堛瑣膋漲a區,還安插了一些高層的官員,因為以弗所處于中心的位置。還有,羅馬人希望把對皇帝的崇拜推行到那堙A因此盡管對以弗所經濟的影響,他們不太在乎以弗所的宗教。

    以弗所教會存在的六個問題

    盼望 感覺不到對天國的期盼
    丰富 對罪的赦免缺乏信心
    權能 對克服他們的罪有困難
    合一 那埵竟堭琲漱尷[
    肉體的罪 行為與社會堛漕銗忖H相同
    角色與關系 對神分派給他們的在社會堛漕丹潀酗ㄕX宜的態度

    學習保羅書信的方法之一就是假定他是在力圖增強教會堛漪Y些薄弱的地方,并澄清一些人們可能不太清楚的概念。按這個假定來查考這封信,我的印像是在以弗所的基督徒中有六個弱點保羅要為他們增強。其中三個弱點與這几個詞有關:盼望,丰富和權能,這几個詞在這封信堥麭B可見。

    保羅耽心的是他們缺乏對進天堂的期盼的感覺。也許衰退的經濟,或他們的工作,或他們的學業使他們顧不上去盼望永恆的事。但保羅在他的信堳出了大大的盼望。在關于神的救贖工的部分,考慮這些問題:我們從這個救贖堹u正地得到了什麼?神對我們有什麼保証?我們怎麼切身地知道我們得到了救贖?這在多大程度上取決于我們的選擇?

    也許他們在盼望上的掙扎是因為他們感到神對他們不夠丰富或慷慨大方。他會饒恕他們所有的罪嗎?他們需要加上他們自己的工作來彌補他們的過失嗎?在天堂真有丰富等待他們嗎?神真的以丰富的愛來愛他們嗎?也許是因為他們周圍經濟的衰退和逼迫的不斷增加,使他們難于相信神對他們會如此地丰盛。也許是因為信堛熙o些弱點,他們沒有能夠經受到神在他們堶悸漱j能:明白這個信息的應用的大能﹔面對他們生活中和世界堛爾o站立得穩的大能﹔做神的工的大能。

    那麼保羅怎麼能夠最好地幫助他們明白他們在基督堛滬垠n位置呢?除了告訴他們他們的位置是什麼之外,他還在第一章和第三章的結尾告訴他們一個超自然的技朮,改變了以弗所聖徒的生命,也改變了所有運用這個技朮的人的生命。

    他們似乎把他們種族上的區別看得太重。教會最早的成員大多是猶太人。但外邦人逐漸地在教會堨e多數。在教會媯L疑存在種族間的沖突和權力斗爭,甚至在基督的門徒中也有這些沖突。外邦人基督徒會試圖忽略,甚至除去他們的新信仰堛熊S太根源。而猶太信徒會把外邦人看作是神的國堛漱G等公民,因為他們以前曾是拜偶像的。保羅在第二章和第四章婺扆ㄓF這些分歧。

    至于他們的行為,正像今天的很多基督徒一樣,他們趨向于犯與他們周圍的社會同樣的罪。在以弗所,妓女是被人所接受的生活方式。無疑有些人認為偷游客的東西也是說得過去的。以弗所是一個肉體想做什麼你就可以做什麼的地方。與我們所在的社會很相似。但保羅指出他們不應該像別人那樣去行,而要像神的兒女那樣去行。不是所有基督徒都接受這個概念。事實上,在啟示錄第二章堶C穌在說到以弗所教會時提到尼哥拉一黨的人,他們生活在自我放縱之中。他們聲稱是尼哥拉的追隨者。尼哥拉是耶路撒冷教會的長老之一,使徒行傳6:5曾提到他。但他的教訓被有些人曲解來為他們自己放縱的生活方式開脫。在啟示錄第二章堙A耶穌稱贊以弗所的教會恨惡這些尼哥拉黨人的行為。

    在以弗所這樣的社會堙A社會鼓勵人們去行使無約束的自由,滿足他們肉身的欲望,順服和順從的概念被看作是病毒。與現在的社會很相似。身在羅馬的統治之下,他們雖有懼怕,但他們對在他們之上的權威沒有多少尊敬。在他們看來,他們最高的權威是一個女人,以弗所人的亞底米,他們把她崇為神。這些以及性的不道德的泛濫破壞了家庭結構。他們不認為丈夫的角色有與之相隨的權威。丈夫們去廟婸P妓女行淫,對他們的妻子也沒有表現出應有的愛。因為妻子們不尊敬她們的丈夫,孩子們也不尊敬他們的父母。也許以賽亞最好地描述了這樣一個社會在背棄神的時候的弊病:“至于我的百姓,孩童欺壓他們,婦女轄管他們。我的百姓啊,引導你的使你走錯,并毀壞你所行的道路。”【以賽亞書 3:12】以弗所正是如此。然而以弗所的聖徒并不以此驚心,因為他們已經按照周圍的文化重新定義了社會中各種角色間的關系。但保羅教他們接受神給他們的在社會堛漕丹漶A讓神來定義每個角色有些什麼作用。要在神給每個角色定義的界限內生活。

    甚至在今天,我們看到順從于神在教會堜M社會媯鳩畯怳嶼ㄙ漱ㄕP角色的限制的這個概念也許是最有爭議的。這種問題很少被允許在公開的場合堸Q論,因為它們往往太容易造成不和。

    總的來說,保羅給以弗所的聖徒的這封信是一封給我們的信。以弗所的聖徒後來怎麼樣了呢?後來耶穌在啟示錄第二章媢鴷L們說:“我知道你的行為、勞碌、忍耐,也知道你不能容忍惡人,你也曾試驗那自稱為使徒卻不是使徒的,看出他們是假的來。你也能忍耐,曾為我的名勞苦,并不乏倦。然而有一件事我要責備你,就是你把起初的愛心離棄了。所以應當回想你是從哪媦Y落的,并要悔改,行起初所行的事。你若不悔改,我就臨到你那堙A把你的燈台從原處挪去。”【啟示錄 2:2-5】今天,以弗所已成為一片廢墟,所在的國家已被伊斯蘭教所主導。它的燈台的確已從原處挪去。

    附錄

    保羅的最後告別:據【使徒行傳 20:18-35】記載,保羅在那媮蕨D三年,凡與他們有益的,他沒有一樣避諱不說的,盡管猶太人的謀害,保羅經歷試煉。他還告誡他們要儆醒,因為會有假教師進入他們中間。保羅敦促他們學習他的榜樣,有一份世俗的工作,不但能夠自食其力,還能幫助周圍的人,這樣就可以慷慨助人,幫助軟弱的人。



    庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
    問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
    索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
    查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

    Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5
Ephesian Bible Study Guides
Eph | 1a | 1b | 2a | 2b | 3a | 3b | 4a | 4b | 5a | 5b | 6a | 6b | Notes 

EPHESIANS OUTLINE

Belonging to God's Family

Joining God's Family
The Creation of God's Family 1:1-14
Prayer for the Revelation of God's Family 1:15-23
The Transition into God's Family
  • From Death to Life
  • 2:1-10
  • From Strangers to Citizens
  • 2:11-22
    The Mystery of God's Family 3:1-13
    Prayer for Maturity in God's Family 3:14-21
    Living in God's Family
    Living in Unity Appreciating Diversity 4:1-16
    Putting off the Old Self and Putting on the New 4:17-32
    Walking in the Light, Imitating God 5:1-21
    Proper Role Relationships in Family and Society
  • Behaving Properly in Marriage
  • 5:21-33
  • Behaving Properly at Home and on the Job
  • 6:1-9
    Walking as a Soldier in God's Family 6:10-24


    Alternate Ephesians Outline

    God's Work
    Study Guides Key vs

    God's Work of Redemption 1:1-14
    1:7


    God's Work of Revelation 1:15-23
    2:17


    God's Work of Resurrection 2:1-10
    2:1


    God's Work of Reconcilation 2:11-22
    2:16


    God's Work of Proclamation 3:1-13
    3:8,9


    God's Work of Sanctification 3:14-21
    3:16


    The Christian's Walk




    The Christian Walk of Unity 4:1-16
    4:3
    UNITY 4:1-16
    The Christian Walk of Repentance 4:17-32
    4:24
    HOLINESS 4:17-5:14
    The Christian Walk in the Light 5:1-21


    The Christian Walk of Submission I 5:22-33
    5:16
    WISDOM 5:15-6:9
    The Christian Walk of Submission II 6:1-9


    The Chistian Walk of Power 6:10-23
    6:10
    POWER 6:10-24



    EPHESIANS

    General Logic

    Paul's Prayer for the Ephesians

    Applications (4:1+)


    HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

    Ephesus was a city on the western shore of what is now modern day Turkey. It was originally built by the Greeks as a part of a trade route. By New Testament times Ephesus had declined somewhat because of deforestation which ruined the land and the harbor. The Romans helped to maintain Ephesus as a city for trade. But at this time they were going through an economic decline and depression. Tourism became important to them. And what was their great attraction? One of the seven wonders of the ancient world, The temple of the female goddess Artemis, also called Diana, who was widely worshipped. She was a sort of nature-goddess and prostitution was practiced in the temple as part of the religion. Many would come to Ephesus all over the world to worship Artemis and buy idols of her, which the Ephesians made.

    Paul first visited Ephesus on the way home from his second missionary journey. He talked with the Jews in the synagogue, and they asked him to come back He came back on his third missionary journey. But some of the Jews became hostile. So he took those who wanted to hear more and spent two years preaching and teaching the word of God there. Many became Christians, both Jews and Gentiles.

    Paul was so successful there that the idol makers were losing lots of money. Which could have threatened the entire economy of Ephesus. As a result there was alot of hostility against Christians, lead by a man known as Demetrius, who made idols. This hostility almost led to a riot, but government officials were able to keep peace, mainly because they were afraid of the Romans. Rome was of course ruling over the entire region and had placed some high officials in Ephesus as it was a central location. Furthermore, Rome had hoped to spread its Emporer worship throughout the region, so that despite the negative effect on the Ephesian economy, the officials didn't care very much about the Ephesian's religion.
     

    6 Problems in the Ephesian Church

    HOPE
    Didn't feel anticipation of going to heaven
    RICHES
    Lacked confidence in the forgiveness of sins
    POWER
    Had trouble overcoming their sinfulness
    UNITY
    There were ethnic conflicts
    SINS OF THE FLESH
    Behaving like the rest of the society
    ROLE
    RELATIONSHIPS 
    Had improper attitudes about the roles

    that God had assigned to them in the society

    One way to study Paul's letters is to assume that he's trying to strengthen areas that are weak in the church and to clarify important ideas that the people may not have clear. Examining the letter with such an assumption, my impression is that there were 6 weaknesses among the Ephesian Christians that Paul was trying to strengthen. Three of these are associated with the words: Hope, Riches, and Power which show up throughout the letter.

    Paul was concerned about their lack of the feeling of anticipation of going to heaven. Perhaps they were caught up in the failing economy, or their jobs, or their schooling too much to be looking to the next life. Yet there was a great hope that Paul presented in his message. In the section on God's Work of Redemption, consider questions of: What have we really obtained in this redemption? What guarantees do we have? How do we know personally that we have this redemption? And how much of it is dependent on our own choice?

    But perhaps their struggle with hope was due to their feeling that God was not really rich or generous towards them. Would He forgive all their sins? Or did they have to add some of their own works to make up for their failures? Are there really great riches in heaven awaiting them? Was God really so generous in His love to them? Perhaps because of the failing economy and the increasing persecution around them, they had difficulty believing God to be so rich to them. And perhaps because of these weaknesses of faith, they failed to experience God's power within them: The power to understand the application of the message; the power to stand against sin in their lives and in the world; and the power to do God's work.

    But how could Paul best help them to understand the significance of their position in Christ? In addition to just telling them what their position was, he teaches of a supernatural technique at the end of chapters 1 and 3 that transformed the lives of the Ephesians and the lives of anyone who uses it.

    It seems that they were too much caught up with their ethnic differences. The earliest members of the church were Jews. But slowly the Gentiles dominated the church. No doubt there were ethnic conflicts and power struggles within the church as there had been even between Jesus' disciples. The gentile Christians may have tried to ignore and even eliminate the Jewish roots of their new belief. And the Jewish believers may have seen the Gentiles as second class citizens in the kingdom of God, as they were formerly idolators. Paul resolves these differences in chapters 2 and 4.

    In terms of their behavior, just like many of us Christians today, they tended to sin just like those in the society around them. In Ephesus prostitution was an accepted way of life. No doubt some found stealing from tourists as somehow being justified. Ephesus was a sort of place where you do whatever you feel your flesh wants to do. Not unlike the society we live in. But Paul proposes that they not act like everyone else does, but behave as children of God should. This idea was not accepted by all the Christians. In fact the Nicolatian Christians who lived in self-indulgence were mentioned in Revelation 2 when Jesus was speaking of the church of Ephesus. They were allegedly followers of  Nicolas, who was one of the elders in the church of Jerusalem mentioned in Acts 6:5, but had misconstrued his teachings to justify their indulgent lifestyle. In Rev 2, Jesus in speaking to the church at Ephesus commends them for hating the deeds of these Nicolatians.

    In such a society as Ephesus where people were encourage to exercise unrestrained freedom in carrying out their fleshly desires, concepts of submission and obedience were not seen as virtues. And much the same is true of this society. Being under Roman occupation, though they had fear, they did not have high respect for the authorities over them. Their highest authority, from their point of view, was a woman, Artemis of the Ephesians, who they worshipped as a god. This, with the rampant sexual immorality led to a breakdown of the family structure. The role of husband was not recognized as having authority associated with it. Neither did the husbands show proper love to their wives as they went to the temple to have sex with the temple prostitutes. As the wives did not respect their husbands so also the children did not respect their parents. Perhaps Isaiah puts it best in describing the symptoms of such a society that had turned away from God "Their children are rebellious and women rule over them" Is 3:12 Such was Ephesus. Yet this was not necessarily alarming to the Ephesians as they had redefined the role relationships in the society to conform to the culture. Paul, however, taught them to accept their role within the society as God has place them, but to allow God to define what incorporated that role. And to live within the boundaries of that role as God defined such boundaries.

    Even today we recognize that this concept of submitting to the limitations of the roles God has assigned to us in the church and in the society is the perhaps the most controversial. Such issues are seldom allowed to be discussed in any kind of open forum because they tend to be too devisive and polarizing.

    In conclusion, Paul's letter to the Ephesians is a letter to us. How did the Ephesians turn out? Some time later Jesus talks to them in Rev 2 saying "I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance. I know that you cannot tolerate wicked men, that you have tested those who claim to be apostles but are not, and have found them false. You have persevered and have endured hardships for my name, and have not grown weary. Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken your first love. Remember the height from which you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first. If you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place." Today Ephesus is in ruins and it's country dominated by Islam. Indeed its lampstand has been removed.

    ADDENDUM

    PAUL'S FINAL FAREWELL: ACTS 20 Taught for 3 years, holding back nothing that was helpful Warning: Be watchful, false teachers will arise among you Paul urged them to follow his example of working at a secular job so that he was able not only to support himself, but the men who were with him. In this way be generous and support the weak. In Ephesus, Paul would not have been considered a full-time Christian minister.


    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources

    Jul 29,2015